Brazil were the gold medallists in the Lima 2019 men's swimming 4x100m freestyle relay ©Lima 2019

Brazil won gold in the men's swimming 4x100 metres freestyle relay after setting a new Pan American Games record here. 

Breno Martins Correia, Marcelo Chierighini, Bruno Giuseppe Fratus and Pedro Henrique Silva Spajari finished in 3mins 12.61secs, beating the previous Pan American record of 3:13.66 set by the United States at Toronto 2015. 

The American team, which included five-times Olympic gold medallist Nathan Adrian, have to settle for silver with 3:14.94.

Mexico completed the podium at the VIDENA Aquatics Centre with 3:17.70.

The US were the victors in the women's 4x100m freestyle relay, however, with their team of Lia Neal, Claire Rasmus, Kendyl Stewart and Margo Geer taking the gold medal in 3:39.59.

They finished clear of second place Brazil, who managed a time of 3:40.39, with Canada completing the podium in 3:41.01.

More success for the US came in the men's 400m freestyle, won by Andrew Abruzzo in 3:48.41.

He was followed by the Brazilian duo of Fernando Muhlenberg Scheffer and Luiz Altamir Lopes Melo, in times of 3:49.60 and 2:49.91 respectively. 

The women’s 100m breaststroke title was claimed by the United States’ Anne Lazor.

Canada’s Faith Knelson had the advantage at the halfway mark of the sprint event, but Lazor came back in the second 50m to win in 1:06.94.

Argentina’s Julia Sebastian was the silver medallist in 1:07.09, while Knelson had to make do with bronze in 1:07.42.

Anne Lazor of the United States triumphed in the women's 100m breaststroke ©Lima 2019
Anne Lazor of the United States triumphed in the women's 100m breaststroke ©Lima 2019

Brazil left the pool with two more gold medals, with Leonardo Gomes de Deus triumphing in the men's 200m butterfly. 

He finished in 1:55.86, ahead of America's Samuel Pomajevich in 1:57.35 and Colombia's Jonathan David Gomez in 1:57.75.

Brazil's João Gomes Júnior was the victor in the men's 100m breaststroke, recording the winning time of 59.51.

Gomes Júnior served a ban for an anti-doping violation from December 2014 to June 2015, before competing at the Rio 2016 Olympics.

He had been competing in the World Championships in Gwangju last month, claiming bronze in the men's 50m breaststroke. 

Completing the podium today was American pair Cody Miller and Kevin Cordes in 59.57 and 1:00.27 respectively. 

Argentina also managed two gold medals.

Virginia Bardach was the fastest qualifier to the women’s 200m butterfly final and was the fastest in the final as well.

She narrowly trailed the United States’ Sarah Gibson at the halfway mark of the race, but pushed on to overtake and win in a time of 2:10.87.

Anne-Elizabeth Stone of the US topped the podium in the women's fencing sabre event ©Lima 2019
Anne-Elizabeth Stone of the US topped the podium in the women's fencing sabre event ©Lima 2019

Canada’s Mary-Sophie Harvey was second in 2:11.68, with United States’ Meghan Small third in 2:12.51.

Gibson started quickly but ultimately faded to fifth place.

Delfina Pignatiello, who won two silver medals at a home Youth Olympic Games in Buenos Aires last year, acheived gold here.

She finished the women’s 400m freestyle in a winning time of 4:10.86, nearly identical to the 4:10.40 she managed in Buenos Aires.

Canada’s Danica Ludlow and Alyson Ackman rounded off the podium in the respective times of 4:11.97 and 4:12.05.

Across the road from VIDENA, Anne-Elizabeth Stone of the US acheived gold in the women's fencing sabre competition here at the Lima Convention Centre.

She edged past Argentina's Maria Belen Perez Maurice to win 15-13, with the result sending her up to fifth in the women's sabre world ranking. 

Bronze went to Canada's Gabriella Charl Page and Venezuela's Alejandra Jhona Benitez Romero. 

Chile's Gusatavo Alarcon pulled off a surprise run to the final of the men's foil, surprising American world champion Race Imoden in the semi-finals.

He could not produce a repeat in the gold medal bout, however, losing 15-11 to the US' Gerek Meinhardt.

Imboden and Canada’s Maximilian Van Haaster were the bronze medallists.