Kelsey Mitchell won the women's sprint title ©Getty Images

Canada’s Kelsey Mitchell and Colombia’s Kevin Quintero earned gold on the final day of track cycling competition at the Lima 2019 Pan American Games.

Both riders had narrowly missed out on titles earlier in the week at the National Sport Complex Velodrome in Lima, but ensured they would not be denied again.

Mitchell, a silver medallist in the team sprint, progressed through to the final of the individual event where she faced the challenge of Martha Bayona Pineda.

The Canadian had too much for her Colombian rival, with Mitchell triumphing in straight rides to clinch gold.

An all-Mexican bronze medal contest saw Daniella Gaixola overcome her team-mate Jessica Salazar in both races to secure the final podium position.

Quintero emerged as the winner of the men’s keirin competition, following on from team sprint silver and individual bronze.

His medal set from Lima 2019 was completed when he powered to victory in the keirin, with the Colombian taking the lead in the final lap and refusing to let his challenges pass as the finish approached.

Venezuela’s Hersony Canelon and Argentina’s Leandro Bottasso completed the podium positions behind Quintero.

United States’ Kimberley Geist and Christina Birch took gold in the women’s madison competition, which was held for the first time at the Pan American Games.

The duo ended the race on a winning total of 46 points, ending nine clear of silver medallists Miriam Brouwer and Maggie Coles-Lyster of Canada.

Chile’s Antonio Cabrera Torres and Felipe Penaloza Yanez won the men's madison ©Getty Images
Chile’s Antonio Cabrera Torres and Felipe Penaloza Yanez won the men's madison ©Getty Images

Brouwer and Coles-Lyster finished level with Mexico’s Lizbeth Salazar and Jessica Bonilla win silver on 35 points, the same total as Mexico.

The Canadians win the silver due to finishing higher in the final sprint, leaving the Mexicans to take the bronze.

Track cycling competition concluded with Chile’s Antonio Cabrera Torres and Felipe Penaloza Yanez winning the men’s madison.

The duo scored points in each of the 20 sprints and gained a lap during the race to finish on 88 points.

United States’ Gavin Hoover and Adrian Hegyvary ended three points adrift to win silver, while Colombia were bronze medallists on 61 points.

The ninth day of competition at Lima 2019 had begun with Colombia's Sandra Arenas winning the women's 20 kilometre race walk in a Games record time of 1 hour, 28 min and 3 sec.

Peru’s Gabriela Garcia settled for silver in a season best 1:29.00, while Brazil’s Erica Rocha de Sena completed the podium in 1:30.34.

Ecuador's Daniel Pintado won the men's race in a time of 1:21:51, ending six seconds clear of challengers Caio Bonfim of Brazil and Guatemala's José Alejandro Barrondo, who won silver and bronze respectively.

Ecuador's Mauricio José Arteaga and defending champion Evan Dunfee of Canada were outside the medal positions, finishing 32 and 36 seconds down respectively.

Brazilian success came in the women's 10km open water competition with Ana de Jesus Soares triumphing in 2:00:51.

Colombia's Sandra Arenas won the women's 20km race walk ©Getty Images
Colombia's Sandra Arenas won the women's 20km race walk ©Getty Images

Argentina's Cecilia Elizabe Biagioli placed second in 2:01:23, while another Brazilian, Viviane Eichelberger, claimed bronze with the same time. 

Ecuador's Esteban Enderica was the victor in the men's race by clocking 1:53:46, ending 14 seconds clear of Guillermo Vitto Bertola of Argentina.

Taylor Abbott of the United States finished third in 1:54:02.

Favourites Meaghan Benfeito and Caeli McKay of Canada record an emphatic score of 320.64 to win the women's synchronised 10m platform diving event in the Lima 2019 Aquatic Centre.

Mexico's Alejandra Orozco Loza and Gabriela Belem Agundez Garcia won silver with 307.38, while a score of 281.10 saw United States' Amelia Magana and Delaney Schnell take bronze.

Colombia’s Daniel Restrepo triumphed in the men’s 3m springboard diving event with a winning total of 468.10 points.

He took the title ahead of Mexico’s Juan Celaya, who won silver on 454.30, with bronze going to Canada’s Phillipe Gagne on 448.65.