Teams will be competing for places at this year's World Championship ©Getty Images

The International Wheelchair Rugby Federation (IWRF) 2018 World Championship Qualification Tournament will begin in Nottwil tomorrow, with eight teams hoping to claim their places at the flagship event.

The competition will see Athens 2004 Paralympic champions New Zealand, Brazil, Colombia, Germany, Ireland, South Korea and Poland, along with host country Switzerland, compete across five days at the Swiss Paraplegic Centre.

Four spots at the IWRF 2018 World Championship, which will take place in Australian city Sydney between August 5 and 10, are up for grabs.

The eight teams have been divided into two groups with pool matches taking place over the next three days before the semi-finals and final on April 7 and 8.

The top four teams in the tournament will join Paralympic champions Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Great Britain, Japan, Sweden and the United States at the World Championship in Sydney.

South Korea's head coach Ju Ha Lee says his team are looking forward to the tournament.

"I think it is a great honour to be able to compete with the best teams in Europe and the American zone, including Poland, Germany and Brazil," he said.

"Our team is very eager to get a good result at this event in Switzerland, and we look forward to going to Switzerland too."