Argentina got the better of Brazil in Chetumal ©FIVB

Argentina's Julian Azaad and Nicolas Capogrosso upset Brazilian rivals Saymon Barbosa and Arthur Lanci to reach the main draw of the International Volleyball Federation Chetumal Open in Mexico.

The pair came through 21-18, 21-18 as qualification matches were held on day one of the four-star Beach World Tour event.

Brazil is normally the South American force in beach volleyball but the tables were turned at Plaza Bicentenario.

"There's a big rivalry between the two countries regardless of the sport and it's always special to beat a Brazilian team, especially because they are among the best in the world in beach volleyball," Azaad said. 

"It's funny because I feel that we normally play better against the Brazilians. 

"And for us, to end the year in the main draw of a four-star, that means a lot."

Other men's qualifiers for the main draw were Belgium's Dries Koekelkoren and Tom van Walle, China's Peng Gao and Yang Li, France's Youssef Krou and Edouard Rowlandson, Americans John Hyden and Billy Kolinske, Russia's Ruslan Bykanov and Alexander Likholetov, Ukraine's Iaroslav Gordieiev and Sergiy Popov and Germany's Sven Winter and Alexander Walkenhorst.

In the women's draw there was joy for Canadians Shanice Marcelle and Julie Gordon who reached their first main draw after a year playing together.

Canadians Shanice Marcelle and Julie Gordon reached their first main draw ©FIVB
Canadians Shanice Marcelle and Julie Gordon reached their first main draw ©FIVB

They defeated Lezana Placette and Alexia Richard of France 21-18, 22-20 to secure their spot.

"I felt that we've improved a lot in the last two months," Gordon said.

"It's great that we are able to play in a four-star tournament and especially here in Mexico, which we love. 

"We want to keep taking it one game at a time and appreciate being here. 

"We'll work hard here so hopefully we can really enjoy a holiday in December."

The Canadians were joined in qualifying by Spanish pairs Amaranta Navarro and Angela Lobato and Maria Carro and Paula Soria, Americans Terese Cannon and Sara Hughes, Norway's Ingrid Lunde and Ane Hjortland, Japan's Azusa Futami and Akiko Hasegawa, China's Meimei Lin and Jinjin Zeng and France's Aline Chamereau and Alexandra Jupiter. 

The main draw begins with group stage play tomorrow.