Saurav Ghosal, a Commonwealth Games medallist, will be part of India's squad ©Getty Images

Chennai in India will host the relaunched Squash World Cup from tomorrow, with eight teams scheduled to take part on a glass show court at Express Avenue Mall.

The World Squash Federation (WSF) tournament has implemented changes including gender parity within the teams and playing games to seven points for the first time in WSF history.

Hosts India will be joined at the event by Australia, Colombia, Egypt, Hong Kong, China, Japan, Malaysia and South Africa with every country picking two male and two female players.

Egypt, Australia, Malaysia and Colombia have been placed in Group A with India, Hong Kong, China and Japan in Group B.

The top two sides in each group will reach the semi-finals.

Teams will be awarded two points for a victory by their man or woman who has been designated as the number one player, with the number two players receiving one point for a win.

The Squash World Cup has been relaunched with new rules ©WSF
The Squash World Cup has been relaunched with new rules ©WSF

A draw in the knockout stage will see the tie settled by the greater difference between games won and lost.

Included in the squads are Commonwealth Games medallists Saurav Ghosal and Joshna Chinappa for India, and highly rated young Egyptian talent Aly Abou Eleinen.

Japan's Satomi Watanabe, the most valuable player at the 2022 Women's World Team Championship, will be another to watch.

The first World Cup was played in Malaysia in 1996, with two more editions taking place since then in The Netherlands in 1999 and 2011 in Chennai.

As Egypt won in 2011, they will be defending their title 12 years on.

This year's final will take place on June 17.