Sewon Okazawa has lost in the opening round of the Asian Boxing Championships ©IBA

Hosts Jordan got the Asian Boxing Confederation (ASBC) Asian Boxing Championships off to a winning start, with their medal hopeful Zeyad Eashash pulling off a shock victory over last year's world champion, Sewon Okazawa.

A crafty fighter, the Japanese Okazawa was outdone by his opponent, after moving up a weight to the under-71kg tournament this time around in Amman.

In the end, Eashash - who made the quarter-finals at this weight in Belgrade last year at the World Championships - won by a 4-1 split decision.

India and Uzbekistan were among those to have two boxers qualify.

Lakshya Chahar and Sparsh Kumar won their respective bouts in the men's under-80 kilogram and men's under-51kg categories over Tajikistan's Shabbos Negmatulloev and Nurzhigit Diushebaev from Kyrgyzstan.

Uzbekistan delivered two victories in the afternoon session, with Abdumalik Khalokov winning on a 3-2 split decision over Sarawut Sukthet of Thailand in the men's under-57kg; while Ruslan Abdullaev won unanimously against Shunsuke Kitamoto of Japan in the under-63.5kg tournament.

Wins came for nations such as India, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan today too ©Getty Images
Wins came for nations such as India, Uzbekistan and Kyrgyzstan today too ©Getty Images

Chinese Taipei saw two of their three athletes progress too - the first being Lee Cheng-Wei in the under-57kg who forced a referee's stoppage in the first round against Nawaf Ali of the United Arab Emirates.

The second came from Lai Chu-En - beating Afghanistan's Abdullah Mohammadi in the second round when the referee stopped the under-63.5kg contest due to injury.

However, Kan Chia-Wei was eliminated in the under-75kg tournament after losing unanimously to Satybaldy Uulu Sagyn from Kyrgyzstan.

Kyrgyzstan claimed another win just before this when Rustambek Uulu Nuradin caused a referee's stoppage in the first round of his under-71kg bout with Thinley Thinley from Bhutan.

Turkmenistan earned two victories too with Yhlas Gylychjanov and Bayramdurdy Nurmuhammedov defeating Turki Abuquzailah from Kuwait in the under-57kg and Hussain Al-Shammar from the UAE in the under-71kg respectively.

Iran's Moslem Maghsoudi also won in the under-71kg against Qasem Rajab from Palestine unanimously; while his team-mate Mostafa Rigi lost to Thailand's Thitisan Panmot in the under-51kg.

Finally, South Korean Lee Haeng-seok is through after beating Sign Yu Tso of Hong Kong in the under-57kg, while Mongolian Byambatsogt Tuguldur is through in the under-63.5kg category following a unanimous victory over Abdel Rahman Abunab from Palestine.