The remaining members of Team Schirmler have been inducted into the WCF Hall of Fame ©Curling Canada

Four Canadian curlers have been inducted into the World Curling Federation's (WCF) 2022 Hall of Fame, including the remaining members of Team Schmirler, who won the Women's World Championship three times in the 1990s as well as the Olympic gold medal in Nagano.

Jan Betker, Joan McCusker and Marcia Gudereit join their skip Sandra Schmirler, who died in 2000, in the Hall of Fame.

The quartet won their first World Championship in Geneva in 1993 and defended that crown in Oberstdorf in Germany the following year.

A second world title was won in Switzerland in 1997 when they defeated Dordi Nordby's Norway in Bern for gold.

Schmirler and company then became the first women's winners in curling at the Winter Olympic Games at Nagano 1998, beating Denmark in the final.

Schmirler died at the age of 36 in 2000 from cancer and was posthumously inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2009.

The other inductees are Canadian curler Ian Tetley and New Zealand coach, manager, organiser and co-selector Peter Becker.

"I would like to offer my sincere congratulations to our World Curling Hall of Fame 2022 inductees," said WCF President Kate Caithness.

"Their contribution to our sport both on the ice and behind the scenes to develop curling cannot be underestimated.

"Team Schmirler were our first ever women's Olympic champions as well as multiple world champions. 

"Ian Tetley winning three world titles with three different teams is a fantastic achievement. 

Finally, the Becker family is synonymous with curling in New Zealand largely due to the remarkable work of Peter Becker throughout the years.

"All of our 2022 inductees are worthy recipients of the Freytag Award, which is the highest honour we can bestow in our sport," Caithness added.

Peter Becker has been inducted for his services to curling in New Zealand ©WCF/Tom Rowland
Peter Becker has been inducted for his services to curling in New Zealand ©WCF/Tom Rowland

Tetley won three World Championships with three different teams, with the first coming in 1985 in Glasgow when he played second on Al Hackner's rink.

He then joined Ed Werenich's team as a second too, claiming the 1990 gold in Västerås; and secured his third in the same position on Wayne Middaugh's rink, who defeated Swedish great Peja Lindholm in the 1997 final on home soil in Kamloops.

Both Tetley and Team Schmirler were inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame in 1999.

Becker has worked in all facets of New Zealand curling, skipping its first men's national team at the Pacific-Asia Curling Championships in Sagamihara in 1991, representing his country six times at the competition and nine times at the World Senior Curling Championships.

He has worked across several positions on the national set-up and was one of the main drivers in taking a team to the Youth Olympic Games.

Becker was also the secretary of the New Zealand Curling Association from 1995 to 2009 and a key figure in the development of the Naseby Indoor Curling Rink which opened in 2005, becoming the first dedicated curling facility in the southern hemisphere.