New Zealand has added six athletes to its Paralympic team ©Getty Images

Paralympics New Zealand (PNZ) has announced six new members to its athletics team for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics, including two debutants.

Of the six, five of them are women and four have competed at a Games before.

Returning for a third Paralympics is Holly Robinson, who won silver in the F46 javelin at Rio 2016.

Robinson made her debut at the Games at London 2012.

In March, Robinson became the first Para-athlete to win a medal in an open event at the New Zealand Track and Field Championships, when she took silver in the women's javelin.

Also returning in the throws is Caitlin Dore, who debuted at Rio 2016, finishing seventh in the F37 women's javelin.

Dore, a cerebral palsy athlete, has opted to switch to shot put after javelin was taken off the Olympic programme - and after eight months of throwing, she broke the F37 shot put national record.

T47 long jump Paralympic champion from Rio 2016, Anna Grimaldi, will also return.

Despite a series of injuries hampering her in the last Paralympic cycle, she has achieved four personal bests in 2021 and could beat the world record - currently sitting just 10 centimetres adrift.

William Stedman was 16 at Rio 2016 when he won two bronze medals in the men's 400m and 800m T36 - with the cerebral palsy athlete since winning medals at the World Championships.

Two new athletes at the Paralympics will be shot putter Lisa Adams and sprinter Danielle Aitchison.

Adams holds the F37 shot put world record, having transitioned into Para-athletics in 2018 after time as a rugby league player and won the gold medal in the event at the World Para Athletics Championships two years ago.

Aitchison heads into the Paralympics with success at the 2019 World Para Athletics Championships, where she won silver in the women's 200m T36.

Holly Robinson is one of the six athletes to represent New Zealand at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics ©Getty Images
Holly Robinson is one of the six athletes to represent New Zealand at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympics ©Getty Images

"It is fantastic to announce our third group of Para-athletes selected to represent New Zealand at the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games today," said Fiona Allan, chief executive of PNZ.

"The six Para-athletes including a remarkable five females, who will compete in Para-athletics have satisfied PNZ selectors that they have met the selection criteria for Tokyo 2020.

"Caitlin, Anna, Holly, William, Lisa and Danielle will be looking to continue the legacy of previous Paralympians that have competed in New Zealand Paralympic teams across 13 Paralympic Games since 1968.

"Through their commitment to training and performance they will drive social change and inclusion."

This brings New Zealand's Paralympic team up to 19 athletes to date, which already includes swimmers Cameron Leslie and Sophie Pascoe as well as the men's wheelchair rugby team.

The Tokyo 2020 Paralympics are scheduled to take place from August 24 to September 5.