DOSB have awarded 50 clubs for the development of young athletes ©Getty Images

The German Olympic Sports Confederation (DOSB) have announced that 50 clubs for young athletes have received grants worth €5,000 (£4,600/$5,900).

Despite the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the "Green Belt" fund remained for 2020, giving extra support to clubs in association with Commerzbank AG.

In the initiative's 34th year, a jury selected 50 winning clubs from Olympic and non-Olympic associations from around Germany.

The application period was extended to the end of May by two months for the first time, in order to give clubs a chance to submit entries during the pandemic.

Established sports in Germany such as gymnastics, handball and football were among the winners as well as deaf sports clubs and summer and winter sports clubs too, including clubs from the most recent additions to the Olympic programme - baseball, karate and sport climbing.

"For us, the 'Green Belt' competition is an important building block in competitive young sport and thus for the long-term development of talented athletes in Germany," said Veronika Rücker, jury member of the "Green Belt" and chairwoman of the DOSB Board.

Veronika Rücker, left, was part of the Green Belt jury ©DOSB
Veronika Rücker, left, was part of the Green Belt jury ©DOSB

"Together with Commerzbank, we are delighted that we are once again able to reward 50 clubs for their outstanding youth work and thus support sport in Germany.

"In 2020, in times of COVID-19 and the uncertain prospects for young athletes, this sponsorship award may be more important than ever.

"Again this year we are impressed by the quantity and above all the quality of the applications and the convincing concepts of the clubs for sustainable talent promotion."

Due to the pandemic, there were no major award ceremonies and festive events for the initiative, with Commerzbank and DOSB handing over the trophies and cheques to the winning clubs in compliance with COVID-19 guidelines.

A total of 14 states of Germany were represented in the winners list, with North Rhine-Westphalia having the most winners with nine.