Chloe Dygert of the United States broke the world record twice on her way to taking gold in the women's individual pursuit ©UCI

Chloe Dygert of the United States broke the world record twice in one day on her way to gold in the women's individual pursuit on day four of the World Track Cycling Championships.

Dygert clocked 3min 16.937sec on her way to victory in the discipline, eclipsing the previous world record which she set in qualification earlier in the day - 3:17.283.

Dygert now holds the four fastest times in history in the women's individual pursuit, and her latest world record helped her beat German Lisa Brennauer who took silver (3:23.229).

The bronze medal race was won by Franziska Brausse in 3:24.284.

The first final on the penultimate day of action at the Berlin Velodrome was the women's 500m time trial, won by Lea Sophie Friedrich of Germany in 33.121sec.

It was Friedrich's second world title of the Championships as earlier in the week she was part of the German line-up that won the women's team sprint.

Silver went to Jessica Salazar of Mexico in 33.154 with bronze going to Miriam Vece of Italy in 33.171.

The longest race of the women's programme was also decided today - the madison.

Raced over a 30km distance, equivalent to 120 laps of the track, teams of two riders per country aimed to claim as many points as possible across 12 sprints which took place at 10 lap intervals.

The Netherlands pair of Kirsten Wild and Amy Pieters took the title scoring 36 points.

Although the Dutch team only crossed the finish line in third place, they scored points on 11 out of 12 sprints, winning through the consistent nature of their performance on the crucial laps.

They comfortably finished ahead of the silver medallists from France Clara Copponi and Marie le Net who had 24 points, and the bronze medallists from Italy Letizia Paternoster and Elisa Balsamo who scored 20 points.

There was only one men's event decided in Berlin in the form of the omnium, contested over four disciplines - the scratch race, tempo race, elimination race and points race - all of which took place on one day.

Gold went to France's Benjamin Thomas, who scored 148 points, after wins in both the scratch and points races.

Jan Willem Van Schip of The Netherlands took silver with 135 points and Britain's Matthew Walls took bronze with 117 points.

The final day of competition in Berlin tomorrow sees the remaining four finals take place - the women's points race, men's sprint, women's keirin and men's madison.