Denmark broke the world record three times in two days on their way to team pursuit gold at the World Track Cycling Championships ©Getty Images

Denmark broke the world record in the men's team pursuit for the third time in two days on their way to gold on day two of the World Track Cycling Championships in Germany.

Danish quartet Lasse Norman Hansen, Julius Johansen, Frederik Rodenberg and Rasmus Pedersen broke the previous world record of 3min 48.012sec, set by Australia at last year's World Championships, in qualifying and then again in the first round.

They went even better in the final lowering their own world record down to 3:44.672.

Silver medals went to New Zealand's quartet of Corbin Strong, Campbell Stewart, Jordan Kerby and Aaron Gate in 3:49.713 while bronzes went to Italy's team of Francesco Lamon, Jonathan Milan, Simone Consonni and Filippo Gana in 3:47.511.

In the women's team pursuit, the United States quartet of Jennifer Valente, Chloe Dygert, Emma White and Lily Williams took gold in a time of 4:11.235.

The silver medals went to Britain's team of Eleanor Dickinson, Neah Evans, Elinor Barker and Katie Archibald in 4:13.129 while bronzes went to host nation Germany and their team of Franziska Braue, Lisa Brennauer, Gudrun Stock and Lisa Klein in a time of 4:12.964.

There were two other finals on day two of competition at the Berlin Velodrome, one of which was the men's scratch race over 15km.

Gold went to Yauheni Karaliok of Belarus, his second gold at a World Championships following success in this discipline in 2018.

Simone Consonni took silver, his second medal of the night after being part of Italy's bronze medal winning team pursuit quartet while Sebastian Mora Vedri of Spain took bronze.

The night's other final was the men's keirin won by Harrie Lavreysen of The Netherlands, ahead of Yuta Wakimoto of Japan who took silver and Azizulhasni Awang of Malaysia who took bronze.

There are medals up for grabs in five disciplines on the third day of competition tomorrow - the women's omnium, the men's 1000 metre time trial, the men's individual pursuit, the women's sprint and the men's 40km points race.