The Paralympic Committee of India is having the responsibilities of National Sports Federations put on its shoulders ©Paralympic India/Twitter

Indian athletes' preparations for the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games have been thrown into uncertainty, with some of the country's National Sports Federations (NSFs) looking to distance themselves from Para-sports.  

They have cited "financial overburdening of resources" and "complexities involved in organising tournaments".

As reported by the Times of India, the unnamed NSFs instead want the Paralympic Committee of India (PCI) to take control of the entire organisation and conduct tournaments for Para-athletes.

This is with the view to allow them to focus on able-bodied events.

In July, the National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) took the decision to remove Para-shooting events from its Annual Competition and Training Calendar.

This put the responsibility of carrying out Para-shooting activities on the PCI, whose protests have led the Sports Authority of India to figure out a short-term arrangement in which the NRAI will continue undertaking the task until Tokyo 2020.

This was reluctantly agreed to by the NRAI, the Times of India reports.

Devendra Jhajharia was one of India's two gold medallists at Rio 2016 ©Getty Images
Devendra Jhajharia was one of India's two gold medallists at Rio 2016 ©Getty Images

It was around three months before the start of the Rio 2016 Paralympics that the PCI had its suspension from the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) lifted, with the sole purpose of allowing athletes to compete at the Games under their national flag.

The PCI had been suspended since April 2015 due to conflicts at national level between different groups and persons, that the IPC claimed was undermining the development of the Paralympic Movement in India.

However, following productive meetings in Bonn, the German city where the IPC is based, the suspension was overturned.

India went on to win four medals at Rio 2016, including two golds, marking the nation's best-ever performance in the history of the Summer Paralympics.

Mariyappan Thangavelu came out on top in the men's high jump T42 event, while Devendra Jhajharia won the men's javelin F46 competition.

There was also a silver medal for Deepa Malik in the women's shot put F53 and a bronze for Varun Singh Bhati in the men's high jump T42.