Phelipe Andrews Melo Rodrigues of Brazil is among the five athletes to be named on the group ©Getty Images

Five swimmers have been elected to the newly-established World Para Swimming Athletes’ Advisory Group, it has been announced.

Phelipe Andrews Melo Rodrigues of Brazil, American Anna Eames, Matthew Levy of Australia, French swimmer David Semtanine and Hungary's Tamas Sors have all been chosen for a place on the body.

Elections were held during the World Championships, which concluded in Mexico City on Thursday (December 7).

All five swimmers will serve four-year terms, with World Para Swimming due to select a chairperson in the near future.

The worldwide governing body also revealed more athletes could be added to the group.

Its aim will be to "represent the entire Para swimming population, including all impairment groups with balanced gender representation", according to World Para Swimming.

Anna Eames of the United States has also been elected onto the group ©Getty Images
Anna Eames of the United States has also been elected onto the group ©Getty Images

The group will also be tasked with promoting fair play and a "healthy image" for the sport, while also and fostering the worldwide development of Para swimming.

There continue to be widespread cheating and a misuse of the classification system in swimming and other Paralympic sports, particularly in Britain.

The International Paralympic Committee has launched a staunch defence of the classification system but voiced concerns over UK Sport's alleged medals-before-welfare policy.

The Athletes' Advisory Group will act as a liaison between the athletes and the World Para Swimming management team and will provide advice to the Sport Technical Committee.

Athletes on the body will be expected to host meetings for swimmers during major events in the sport.