By Tom Degun

Nigel Chamier_25-09-12September 25 - Gold Coast 2018 chairman Nigel Chamier has announced the formation of three subcommittees to advise the Organising Committee on the planning and delivery of the Commonwealth Games in the Australian city.

The three subcommittees consist of a Sport and Technical Committee chaired by Australian Commonwealth Games Association (ACGA) President Sam Coffa, a Finance and Audit Committee chaired by Queensland Investment Corporation non-executive director Bronwyn Morris and a Joint Marketing Committee chaired by Queensland Airports Ltd managing director Dennis Chant.

While Gold Coast 2018 will remain responsible for programme development, the three subcommittees will contribute expert advice and make key recommendations to the Board.

Chamier (pictured top) said the appointees represent a diverse mix of backgrounds and experiences across the tourism, business, finance, events and sporting industries and collectively bring a wealth of knowledge to the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

"I am particularly delighted with the calibre of people on these committees," Chamier said.

"Their enthusiasm to be involved in the planning and development of the biggest sporting event this country will see for at least a decade is fantastic."

The Sport and Technical Committee chaired by Coffa is by far the largest subcommittee with nine members and it includes ACGA vice-president Mike Victor, ACGA medical committee chair Dr Peter Harcourt and ACGA chief executive Perry Crosswhite, who is the only man to feature in all three sub committees.

Sam Coffa_25-09-12ACGA President Sam Coffa is one of the key figures in ensuring the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games run smoothly as he takes on added responsibility as chair of the new Sport and Technical Committee 

The other five members are Australian Track and Field Coaches Association executive director Glynis Nunn-Cearns; Pacific Games Council executive director Andrew Minogue; Andrew Baildon's Superfish Swim Schools managing director Andrew Baildon; Sara Carrigan Cycling owner Sara Carrigan and Queensland Events Gold Coast general manager Cameron Hart.

The five-member Finance and Audit Committee chaired by Morris is made up of Crosswhite; BG Australia chair Catherine Tanna Downer, EDI non-executive director Annabelle Chaplain and Bond University chief financial officer John Le Lievre.

Finally, the six-member Joint Marketing Committee chaired by Chant includes Crosswhite; Ray White Surfers Paradise chief executive Andrew Bell; Willconsult director David Williams; In2Tourism Marketing Solutions Principal Peter Doggett and ADCO Constructions joint chair Judith Brinsmead.

The subcommittees will initially meet on a bi-monthly basis with additional committees to address key functional areas of the Commonwealth Games will be established in the future.

Contact the writer of this story at [email protected]

Related stories
July 2012: We are just laying the groundwork at this stage, says Gold Coast 2018 chairman