Rafael Nadal of Spain has been named as the 2022 ITF men's singles world champion ©Getty Images

Spain’s Rafael Nadal and Poland’s Iga Świątek have been named as the International Tennis Federation (ITF) 2022 men’s and women’s singles world champions.

The accolades recognise impressive years for the two players, who both won two Grand Slam singles titles.

On the men’s side, Nadal won this year’s Australian Open and French Open titles, while on the women’s side Świątek claimed both the French Open and US Open crowns.

It is the fifth time Nadal has won the ITF end-of-season award, but the first time that Świątek has done so.

The title of women’s doubles world champions went to Czech Republic duo Barbora Krejcikova and Katerina Siniakova, who also won the accolade in 2021.

This year Krejcikova and Siniakova claimed three Grand Slam doubles titles winning at the Australian Open, Wimbledon and the US Open.

Rajeev Ram of the United States and Britain’s Joe Salisbury claimed the title of men’s doubles world champions, winning the accolade for the first time.

Ram and Salisbury claimed their third Grand Slam doubles title as a partnership, winning the US Open, and also won the season-ending Association of Tennis Professionals Tour Finals crown.

Diede de Groot of the Netherlands claimed the women’s wheelchair world champion title for the fourth year in a row.

Iga Świątek of Poland has been named as the 2022 ITF women's singles world champion ©Getty Images
Iga Świątek of Poland has been named as the 2022 ITF women's singles world champion ©Getty Images

De Groot was in unstoppable form, winning all four Grand Slam singles titles, as well as all 38 matches that she contested during 2022.

Shingo Kunieda of Japan was named men’s wheelchair world champion for a tenth time, following a year where he won three more Grand Slams.

Kunieda won the Australian Open, French Open and Wimbledon crowns, and was very close to claiming the US Open, but lost in the final to Britain’s Alfie Hewett, as he was denied the calendar Grand Slam.

The quad wheelchair world champion crown went to Niels Vink of the Netherlands, who ended the year as world number one.

Vink claimed his first two Grand Slam titles, winning the French Open and the US Open.

The boys junior world champion title went to Gilles Bailly of Belgium while the girls junior world champion trophy was won by Lucie Havlickova of the Czech Republic.

ITF President David Haggerty said: "Congratulations to our 2022 ITF World Champions, all of whom have enjoyed exceptional years.

"It has been a pleasure to watch these 11 players, who are not just superb athletes but also fantastic ambassadors for our sport.

"We look forward to celebrating with them in person next July and I wish all of our world champions the very best for 2023."

The trophies will be presented at the 2023 ITF World Champions Awards, due to be held at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London, England on Saturday July 8 2023.