Australia and South Africa celebrate after their respective women's and men's teams take the titles in Dubai ©World Rugby

Australia and South Africa won the HSBC women’s and men’s World Rugby Sevens Series titles in Dubai.   

Both nations retained the crowns that they won in this round of the series last season.

In the women’s tournament Australia continued their stellar form in a year that has already seen them take Commonwealth Games and Rugby World Cup sevens gold medals.

They faced New Zealand for the 19th time in a Cup final at a Sevens Series event, with Sharni Williams, Faith Nathan, Maddison Levi and Demi Hayes scoring in a 26-19 win.

Michaela Blyde scored a hat-trick of tries for New Zealand but it proved to be in vain for the Black Ferns.

In the bronze-medal match, the United States overcame France 21-12, with the Sevens Eagles stopping Les Bleues from repeating their bronze-medal at the same venue last season.

In the men’s competition, South Africa continued their dominance in Dubai, winning gold in the desert for the fourth year in a row, courtesy of a 21-5 triumph against Ireland.

South Africa had to come from behind in both their quarter-final and semi-final matches at the Sevens Stadium but were more comfortable in the final, never looking back after Shilton van Wyk scored within 20 seconds of kickoff.

In the bronze-medal match, New Zealand defeated the United States 31-12, with Akuila Rokolisoa scoring twice.

The next round of the HSBC men’s and women’s World Rugby Sevens Series is due to take place in Cape Town, South Africa, between December 9 and 11.