Zhu Xueying scored the highest team score in women's trampoline ©Getty Images

China's Cao Yunzhu, Zhu Xueying and Hu Yicheng were the best in their class in the women's trampoline team final, scoring maximum points to take gold on the penultimate day of the International Gymnastics Federation (FIG) Trampoline Gymnastics World Championships in Sofia.

All three scored the maximum of five points in their respective groups, with gymnasts earning between one and five depending on where they finished in their respective round.

Zhu received the highest score with 56.520, as China stormed to victory with a total of 15 points.

Britain's Isabelle Songhurst, Bryony Page and Louise Brownsey took silver by one point, helped by the former two finishing second to the Chinese.

Despite Brownsey only scoring two, the Britons finished with a total of 10 to defeat the Japanese trio of Risa Kiryu, Hikaru Mori and Megu Uyama.

In the men's equivalent, it was Portugal who stood atop the podium.

Diogo Abreu, Pedro Ferreira and Lucas Santos scored 13, with Abreu and Ferreira finishing top of their groups.

France were only one point behind for silver thanks to a maximum haul of points for Allan Morante.

Florestan Riou and Julian Chartier backed up his efforts.

Matthias Schuldt, Matthias Pfleiderer and Fabian Vogel from Germany took bronze with a total of nine points.

Twelve athletes secured quota spots for their home nations for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games individual events too.

Comfort Yeates was one of the British winners today ©British Gymnastics
Comfort Yeates was one of the British winners today ©British Gymnastics

Britain won two of the categories thanks to Kristof Willerton in the men's tumbling and Comfort Yeates in the women's tumbling finals.

Willerton scored 28.500 for the gold medal, defeating Australian Ethan McGuinness on 28.300 and American Kaden Brown on 28.100 who took silver and bronze respectively.

Fourth went to France's Axel Duriez, who qualified with a score of 27.700, far ahead of the rest of the field.

Yeates was a clear winner with a score of 25.700 in the women's event, followed by Australian Breanah Cauchi on 25.100 and British compatriot Shanice Davidson on 24.900.

The fourth quota spot went to a second Australian, Koralee Catlett, with a score of 24.800.

New Zealand's Bronwyn Dibb was top in the women's double mini trampoline final with a score of 27.200.

Silver went to Cheyanna Robinson of Australia with 26.600 and bronze to Britain's Kirsty Way with a score of 26.400.

American Tristan van Natta sealed the fourth quota spot with 26.200.

Finally, Ruben Padilla of the United States won the men's double mini trampoline with a score of 30.200.

Gavin Dodd of Canada and American Tomas Minc completed the podium with scores of 29.200 and 29.100 respectively.