PV Sindhu is among those elected to the Indian Olympic Association Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images

Two-time Olympic badminton silver medallist PV Sindhu and six-time world boxing champion Mary Kom are among 10 individuals unanimously elected to the Athletes' Commission of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA).

London 2012 shooting bronze medallist Gagan Narang and Tokyo 2020 weightlifting runner-up Saikhom Mirabai Chanu will join them on the Athletes' Commission.

Om Prakash from athletics, luge Olympian Shiva Keshavan, rower Bajrang Lal, table tennis player Achanta Sharath Kamal, fencer Bhavani Devi and two-time Asian Games hockey medallist Rani Rampal were also elected.

According to the Times of India, they were elected without a vote taking place, under the supervision of returning officer Umesh Sharma.

A total of 42 candidates had been announced announced prior to the election.

It is understood that 32 withdrew their candidacy following a dinner meeting, leading to the unanimous result.

The chair and vice-chair of the IOA Athletes' Commission are set to be elected this week and act as representatives for athletes in the new IOA structure.

Athletes' Commission regulations were set out by former Supreme Court judge Nageswara Rao, who is overseeing IOA governance reforms.

Constitutional amendments have been made before a new IOA President and Executive Committee are due to be elected on December 10.

Those elections were supposed to take place in December of last year, but were delayed because the IOA was accused of violating the national sports code.

It has been warned with suspension by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) if the elections are not held.

Due to the problems, the IOC pushed back its next Session in Mumbai to later in 2023, having initially been set for May.