FITEQ's Executive Board approved chairs of each of its 15 Committees ©FITEQ

The International Federation of Teqball (FITEQ) Executive Board has approved chairs of its 15 Committees, with Russian official Mikhail Prokopets heading up the Ethics and Disciplinary Committee.

Russian and Belarusian athletes and officials have been banned from FITEQ events due to the invasion of Ukraine in line with International Olympic Committee recommendations, but appointed and elected officials from both countries have been unaffected.

Chairs were proposed by members of each FITEQ Committee for approval by the Executive Board, with Prokopets leading the Ethics and Disciplinary Committee.

The Ethics and Disciplinary Committee serves in a judicial capacity, as does the Medical and Anti-Doping Committee, which is chaired by Trinidad and Tobago's Rudranath Ramsawak.

Former Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee and current Caribbean Association of National Olympic Committees President Brian Lewis has been selected to chair FITEQ's Scientific and Research Committee.

Senegalese player Dieng Alioune Badara chairs the Athletes Committee, Austrian Teqball Federation President Alexandra Koncar the Athletes Entourage Committee and Kuwaiti Sarah Khaja the Athlete Status and Transfer Committee.

Trinidad and Tobago's Brian Lewis is among the officials approved as chair of a FITEQ Committee ©Panam Sports
Trinidad and Tobago's Brian Lewis is among the officials approved as chair of a FITEQ Committee ©Panam Sports

Lorena Luca of Romania has been approved as Corporate Social Responsibility and Sport and Active Society Committee chair, while Montenegrin Filip Patkovic leads the Finance Committee.

Zambia's Mwape Zulu is the chair of the Governance Committee, Melanie Schärer of Switzerland chair for the Finance Committee and France's Faiza Reny for the Para Sport Committee.

Eswatini's Nolwazi Ngwenyama, North Macedonia's Silvija Mitevska, Portugal's Dionisio Goncalves and Britain's Severine Townsend were the other appointed chairs, heading up the Sport Development, Sustainability, Technical and Coaching, and Women's Committees, respectively.

The 15 Committees were established by FITEQ earlier this year in a bid to improve its governance.

FITEQ's Executive Board also approved terms of reference for each Committee, and discussed the proposed calendar for 2023 and commercial strategy, with further details expected to be provided in the coming weeks.