The NOC of Timor-Leste Executive Committee comprises of 14 officials ©NOC of Timor-Leste/OCA

Francisco Kalbuadi Lay has been re-elected for a third term as President of the National Olympic Committee (NOC) of Timor-Leste.

Kalbuadi Lay was first elected in November 2013, and won a second term in January 2018.

He was re-elected again at the NOC's fifth Electoral General Assembly in Dili, attended by 21 National Federations, by acclamation.

After the election, Kalbuadi Lay reflected on what had been a challenging two years due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

He said that the NOC had supported athletes to attend the delayed Tokyo 2020 Olympics and the Southeast Asian Games in Vietnam.

Mateus de Cruz de Carvalho, Vicente Carvalho da Silva, Gabriel da Costa and Aniceto Cardoso Alves were elected as vice-presidents, Laurentino Guterres as secretary general and Dirce Neves Fernandes as treasurer.

Timor-Leste was represented by three athletes at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics ©Getty Images
Timor-Leste was represented by three athletes at the Tokyo 2020 Olympics ©Getty Images

The Executive Committee is completed by Antonio Carlos, Antonio Ximenes, Salvador do Rosario, Agostinho Gomes da Silva, Rogerio Amaral Soares, Adelina Pinto and Bendito Soares.

After the elections, the NOC formally signed an agreement with five athletes who have been awarded an Olympic Solidarity scholarship to assist with their preparations for the Paris 2024 Olympics.

The NOC recently celebrated Timor-Leste's 20th anniversary of independence at the Southeast Asian Games.

As an independent nation, Timor-Leste sent two athletes to the Athens 2004, Beijing 2008 and London 2012 Olympic Games, and then three to Rio 2016 and Tokyo 2020.

It has been represented by one athlete at the last three Winter Olympics, but has yet to win a medal at either edition.