Australia and New Zealand were forced to withdraw from the FIH Hockey Junior World Cups due to COVID-19 restrictions ©Getty Images

The United States, Canada, Argentina and Ireland are set to replace Australia and New Zealand in the International Hockey Federation (FIH) men's and women's Hockey Junior World Cup tournaments due to COVID-19 constraints.

The Antipodean countries were forced to withdraw from both competitions due to their Government's coronavirus travel restrictions.

Overseas travel is prohibited for residents of both nations.

The US and Canada come into the men's competitions as a result of the qualification process which stipulates that the Pan American Hockey Federation has the quota of the first reserve.

The US was selected as it finished third at the most recent Junior Pan Am Championships in Santiago in Chile.

Canada was awarded the second reserve spot as it is the highest ranked senior team in the FIH world rankings that had not qualified.

It is the 10th best men's team in the world.

The event is scheduled to take place from November 24 to December 5 in Bhubaneswar in India.

India also hosted the last edition in 2016 in the northern city of Lucknow where it was crowned champion.

In the women's tournament, Argentina and Ireland have been substituted in for the event in South Africa.

Similarly to Canada, Argentina has qualified as a result of its high-ranking senior team which won the Tokyo 2020 silver medal.

Las Leoncitas are third in the world and won the last edition of the FIH Hockey Women's Junior World Cup in Chile in 2016.

The event is set to take place in Potchefstroom from December 5 to 16 2021 with 16 teams due to take part.

Ireland's senior side was also instrumental for the selection of its juniors.

Its 12th-place ranking was enough to see it given a qualification berth.