Liesette Bruinsma won five medals at the 2019 World Para Swimming Championships ©Getty Images

The Netherlands' team for the 2019 World Para Swimming Championships have this month received the Royal Dutch Swimming Federation (KNZB) Performance Prize for 2019.

The prize - one of a series of awards given out by the KNZB - was handed to the team by KNZB President Marius van Zeijts.

In total, the Dutch team won 21 medals - eight of them gold - at the World Championships in London to earn the KNZB recognition.

Liesette Bruinsma led the way, winning three golds and two silvers.

The Netherlands did not send a team to the 2017 World Para Swimming Championships.

The award is a team prize, and several members of the Dutch squad have also announced their retirement from the sport.

Simon Boer - a Paralympian at Rio 2016 and European champion in the S7 100 metres breaststroke in 2014 - 2018 European silver medallist Thijs van den End and Sanne Hofman, who also competed at Rio 2016, are all stepping away from the pool. 

"In this time of corona, all three have reflected well on their careers," coach Sander Nijhuis said.

"The extra year delay until the Paralympic Games turns out to be too long for them. 

"Sanne wants to start a study, Simon and Thijs want to complete their studies and are eager to step into social life. 

"All three have made a great contribution to Para-swimming and the High Performance Centre team. 

"I wish them every success with their studies and social careers."