The IESF has welcomed five new members ©IESF

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei, Montenegro, Peru and San Marino have become the latest countries to join the International Esports Federation (IESF).

The IESF's membership has grown to a record 72 nations following the addition of the five new members.

The IESF, the world's largest governing body of esports, confirmed the esports associations in the countries had been accepted for membership.

IESF Board member Boban Totovski said its criteria was "strict" and revealed further applications for membership were pending.

The IESF is the oldest governing body for esports ©Getty Images
The IESF is the oldest governing body for esports ©Getty Images

"The IESF family continues to grow globally, and I would like to congratulate our new members,” said IESF Board member and director of memberships Boban Totovski

"The criteria for IESF affiliation is strict, so we are thrilled that we were able to add these five new nations as members. 

"With additional membership applications processing, we look forward to the continued growth and our work on building the foundations of this global esports ecosystem."

The IESF is the oldest governing body claiming to have responsibility for esports.

It is led by Vlad Marinescu, who succeeded Colin Webster as President last month.