Mark McMorris has been given a provisional selection for the Canadian team heading to Pyeongchang 2018 ©Getty Images

Mark McMorris and Max Parrot have been provisionally nominated for Canada’s Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Olympics team.

Both snowboarders were deemed to have satisfied the Method A selection criteria with their results from the 2016-2017 International Ski Federation World Cup season.

McMorris, who won bronze at the Sochi 2014 Games in the men’s slopestyle, had a successful campaign as he won crystal globes in the overall freestyle World Cup standings and the Big Air competition.

However, his season had a bitter end when an accident during a back-country snowboarding trip in Whistler, British Columbia, on March 25 left the 23-year-old with several injuries including a fractured jaw, ruptured spleen and collapsed left lung.

Despite these injuries, Canada Snowboard’s executive director Patrick Jarvis said the team are confident McMorris will be able to appear at the South Korean resort.

“We fully support Mark and he is already under the incredible care of the staff of the Vancouver General Hospital.” Said Jarvis.

"Mark has shown incredible resilience and commitment to recovering from injury and we know that Pyeongchang 2018 will be a strong motivation for his comeback.”

Max Parrot won three stages during the FIS World Cup season ©Getty Images
Max Parrot won three stages during the FIS World Cup season ©Getty Images

Parrot, who has four Winter X-Games gold medals, finished second in the overall freestyle standings behind his Canadian team-mate.

He also scored three stage victories during the course of the campaign.

“To be receiving the early nomination for the Olympic team one year before the actual event is great,” the 22-year-old said.

“It was my goal at the beginning of the season and I achieved it.”

To complete their qualification for the Games, McMorris and Parrot must meet a minimum performance criterion at an eligible competition next season.

Canadian mogul skiers Mikael Kingsbury, Justine Dufour-Lapointe and Andi Naude were also given provisional selections for the Games on Monday.