Sabatino Aracu was reelected as FIRS President at their Congress in Nanjing ©FIRS

Sabatino Aracu has been re-elected unopposed as President of the International Roller Sports Federation (FIRS).

The Italian, head of FIRS since 2005, was elected by acclamation for a fourth four-term at the governing body’s Elective Congress in Chinese city Nanjing.

Aracu will lead FIRS into the the 2018 Youth Olympic Games in Buenos Aires and the 2020 Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Skateboarding, which FIRS oversees, is due to be part of the programme in both events. 

Aracu's latest four-year term will also include the first two editions of the World Roller Games, due to take place Nanjing next year and in Barcelona during 2019.

"It has been an historical Congress: our first Congress as an Olympic Federation," said Aracu.

"The road to Tokyo [2020] is very long, but I am confident this team will be able to achieve huge results."

While Aracu was unopposed, two candidates were left vying for votes to be named as FIRS' first vice-president.

Argentina's Ricardo Grin triumphed after receiving 63 per cent of the vote at the Congress, with rival Moacyr Neuenschwander Junior of Brazil obtaining 37 per cent.

Grin is currently the director of the National Centre of High Performance Athletics and vice-president of the Confederación Argentina de Patín.

The chairs of nine International Roller Sports Federation Technical Committees were confirmed at the Congress ©FIRS
The chairs of nine International Roller Sports Federation Technical Committees were confirmed at the Congress ©FIRS

Prior to the Congress, Aracu has proposed a new member team to lead a variety of FIRS Technical Committees.

Germany’s Siegfried Zistler was confirmed as the chair of the Alpine and Downhill Committee, Italy's Nicola Genchi will lead Artistic, Singapore's Eddie Chua for Inline Freestyle, France's Alberto Lastrucci for Inline Hockey and Spain's Carmelo Paniagua Manso for Rink Hockey.

The United States' Fernando Regueiro will chair the Roller Derby Committee and Malaysia's Idroose Tambarin, France's Olivier Pascal and Colombia's Jorge Ivan Roldan Perez have been confirmed for Roller Freestyle, Skateboarding and Speed respectively.

Delegates at the Congress also approved the Presidents of the five Continental Confederations, with Nathanael Koty and Guoyong Liu set to lead Africa and Asia respectively.

Portugal’s Fernando Elias Claro will chair the European Confederation and Australia’s Patricia Wallace and Colombia’s Alberto Herrera Ayala Oceania and Pan-America.