Tom Sutton will chair the Men's Officiating Committee ©FIL

The Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) has confirmed the appointment of two officials to Committee chairman positions.

Tom Sutton will chair the Men's Officiating Committee while Brad Scibak will lead the Men's Rules Committee.

Sutton, from New York, has officiated at the highest levels of lacrosse, including eight Championship games in Major League Lacrosse (MLL), three National League Lacrosse (NLL) Championships and three National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division I finals.

"The opportunity to work with the best officials from nations around the globe is something that I look forward to," said Sutton.

"It is an exciting time for the FIL and to be able to be part of its future is truly an honour."

Canada's Scibak has experience at five US Field Championships and 35 Canadian National Junior and Senior Championships, as well as the Founder's Cup and a President's Cup.

"It is my honour to serve the FIL community as the men's rules chair," he said.

Brad Scibak will lead the Men's Rules Committee ©FIL
Brad Scibak will lead the Men's Rules Committee ©FIL

"The sport of lacrosse has grown dramatically and along with a great team of volunteers, coaches and organisers we will establish well-structured rules suitable for all levels and types of men's lacrosse."

Both appointments were welcomed by Terry Harding, the FIL's director of men's lacrosse.

Sutton has replaced Don Blacklock after he served two terms as chairman, while Sciback has replaced Robin Howie, who stepped down for personal reasons.

"Tom Sutton brings a storied officiating career and years of international and professional officiating experience in both field and indoor lacrosse," said Harding. 

"Tom has excellent people and teaching skills and has the respect of the international officiating community. 

"He is an excellent choice to replace Don Blacklock, who just finished two outstanding, productive and very appreciated terms as chair.

"Brad has been a Men's Rules Committee member for many years and has served as the lead Committee member for indoor lacrosse. 

"He is uniquely qualified for this role."