The United States will aim to improve on their bronze medal from London 2012 ©Getty Images

USA Wheelchair Rugby (USAWR) have announced their 12-member team for the Rio 2016 Paralympic Games with four members of the London 2012 squad returning.

Chuck Aoki, Chad Cohn, Jason Regier and Adam Scaturro were among the American team which competed four-years ago which went on to claim the bronze medal at the Games.

The quartet were part of the selection which beat Japan 59-45, having fallen short in their semi-final clash against North American rivals Canada.

The Americans, now the world number one side, will set their sights on a higher position on the medals podium at Rio 2016, with the competition due to take place from September 14 to 18.

Jeff Butler, Josh Brewer, Lee Fredette, Anthony McDaniel and Chuck Melton have also been selected for the team, along with Eric Newby, Kory Puderbaugh and Josh Wheeler.

“The journey to this moment has been filled with extreme lows and ultimate highs,” said James Gumbert, coach of the American team.

“The challenge moving forward is to learn from each of these and capitalise on good momentum moving forward.

“Today’s selection represents the next chapter in USAWR history, these 12 athletes will carry on the strong tradition and standards of those who went before them as we look to Rio in September.”

The United States are the top ranked team heading into the Games ©Getty Images
The United States are the top ranked team heading into the Games ©Getty Images

Seth McBride, Alejandro Pabon, Joe Delagrave and Nick Springer have been selected as the alternates for the squad.

The American squad will compete against France, Japan and Sweden in Pool B of the competition in Rio.

Defending Paralympic gold medallists Australia will play European champions Britain, London 2012 silver medallists Canada and hosts Brazil in Pool A.

The US became the world number one country by winning the Canada Cup last month.