Nina Hoffman won the women's elite downhill race at the UCI Mountain Bike World Series event in Pal Arinsal ©UCI

Mathias Flückiger of Switzerland and Austria's Mona Mitterwallner overcame testing conditions to win at the International Cycling Union (UCI) Mountain Bike World Series cross country races in Pal Arinsal Andorra.

Flückiger took gold in the men’s elite cross country in a time of 1hour 28min 03sec.

Silver went to Thomas Griot of France in 1:28:26.

World and Olympic champion Tom Pidcock from Britain finished in 1:28:47 to claim bronze.

"I probably had it in me many times this season already, but it never actually came together," Flückiger told Eurosport after a tremendous tussle with Griot.

"I felt his pressure, but I'm really stoked I could handle it and it didn't make me too under pressure so I could ride my race and actually that's probably the key to me staying in the lead."

In the women’s cross country race, 21-year-old Austrian Mona Mitterwallner riding took her first World Series victory in testing weather conditions, she overtook Switzerland's Alessandra Keller Thomus Maxon who had led the middle portion of the race.

Mitterwalner crossed the line in 1:14:09.

Keller eventually took silver in 1:14:43, some 34 seconds adrift.

World Champion Pauline Ferrand-Prevot racing for Ineos Grenadiers was forced to settle for bronze.

"Today finally everything came together in the hardest race I think I've done so far, in the mud, in the cold, in the rain. I just didn't know what I could do today, but I just kept believing and now finally it came true," Mitterwallner said.

In the men's downhill race, French rider Thibault Dapréla came home in 2:46.455 to win by a tenth of a second from Greg Minaar of South Africa who finished in 2:46.576.

Finn Iles of Canada took bronze with a time of 2:48.771.

"I'm very happy and it’s a pleasure to win again and score important points overall," Dapréla said.

In the women’s downhill race Nina Hoffmann of Germany had taken gold in 3:09.755.

To do so she beat World Champion Valentina Höll who finished in a time of 3:12.591.

Britain's Tahnee Seagrave came in 4.1 seconds behind Hoffmann in a time of 3:13.947. 

The circuit now moves to Loudenvielle-Peyragudes this Friday.