Johannes Høsflot Klæbo is among the Norwegian squad for the upcoming season ©Getty Images

Double Beijing 2022 gold medallist Johannes Høsflot Klæbo headlines Norway’s team for the next cross-country skiing season.

Høsflot Klæbo added to his three Olympic titles from Pyeongchang 2018, winning both the men’s individual and team sprint events at Beijing 2022.

The latter was won with Erik Valnes.

Høsflot Klæbo also won silver in the 4x10 kilometres relay and bronze in the 15km individual event.

He will be joined by Valnes, Even Northug, Haavard Solås Taugbøl, Pål Golberg and Sindre Bjørnestad Skar in the men’s sprint team for the upcoming season.

The team is overseen by coach Arild Monsen.

Didrik Tønseth, Emil Iversen, Hans Christer Holund, Harald Østberg Amundsen, Martin Løwestrøm Nyenget, Simen Hegstad Krüger and Sjur Røthe have been included in the men’s distance squad.

The distance squad is coached by Eirik Nossum.

The women’s squad will not feature Beijing 2022 star Therese Johaug, who won three gold medals at the Games.

Johaug retired at the end of the World Cup season.

Heidi Weng will feature in the women's squad for the upcoming season ©Getty Images
Heidi Weng will feature in the women's squad for the upcoming season ©Getty Images

The women’s squad does feature Heidi Weng, who finished sixth in the overall World Cup standings last season.

Weng was forced to miss the Beijing 2022 Winter Olympics after testing positive for COVID-19 prior to the Games.

The squad includes Olympians Mathilde Skjærdalen Myhrvold, Lotta Udnes Weng, Tiril Udnes Weng, Helene Marie Fossesholm and Ragnhild Haga.

Anne Appelkvist Stenseth, Anna Svendsen, Anne Kjersti Kalvå, Julie Myhre and Marte Skaanes also feature in the team.

Fossesholm enjoyed a successful World Cup season last year, with the 20-year-old finishing second in the World Cup ranking for under-23 skiers.