Hong Kong stormed to victory in the men's competition at the Asia Rugby Sevens Series ©Getty Images

Hong Kong and Japan won the respective men’s and women’s titles at the Asia Rugby Sevens Series in Dubai as they booked their places at next year’s Rugby World Cup Sevens.

A 33-7 thrashing of South Korea saw Hong Kong clinch the men’s crown, while Japan defeated China 14-12 in the women’s final.

All four teams secured their tickets to the 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens in South Africa after reaching the final of the competition in the United Arab Emirates.

In the men’s event, Hong Kong and defending champions Japan advanced from Pool A and B respectively with three wins from three to move into the last four.

Japan’s campaign came to end in the semi-finals when they crashed out to a 21-14 defeat to South Korea, while Hong Kong thumped China 24-0.

Japan were also seeking to retain the women’s title and they looked in sensational form in the group stages, winning all three of their matches in Pool A scoring almost 100 points.

Kazakhstan also advanced to the last four on points difference after finishing levels on points with Thailand.

China ran in 18 tries across their three victories in Pool B as Hong Kong picked up two wins to progress to the knockout stages.

In the semi-finals, Japan thumped Hong Kong 29-0 and China overcame Kazakhstan 24-19.

The 2022 Rugby World Cup Sevens is scheduled to be held in Cape Town in South Africa from September 9 to 11.