The Netherlands broke the world record twice on their way to victory in the men's team sprint on day one of the World Track Cycling Championships ©UCI

The Netherlands twice set a new world record on their way to winning the men's team sprint on the opening day of the World Track Cycling Championships.

Dutch trio Jeffrey Hoogland, Harrie Lavreysen and Roy Van Den Berg twice beat Germany's world record, which had stood since 2013, on day one of competition at the Berlin Velodrome in Germany.

In the first round the trio qualified fastest after breaking the world record and recording a time of 41.275sec.

Up against Britain, the Dutch went even quicker in the final lowering their world record to 41.225, and claiming their third consecutive world title in the discipline.

Silver in the men's team sprint went to Britain's team of Jack Carlin, Jason Kenny and Ryan Owens in a time of 42.400 while the race for bronze was won by Australia.

Their team of Thomas Cornish, Nathan Hart and Matthew Richardson took bronze in a time of 42.829 as they beat France.

There were more world records in Berlin on day one as Denmark twice broke the world record in the men's team pursuit on the way to reaching the final.

Danish quartet Norman Hansen, Julius Johansen, Frederik Madsen and Rasmus Pedersen qualified fastest in a record 3 min 46.203 sec and will now face New Zealand for gold over 4km tomorrow.

In the women's team sprint, Germany took a surprise gold with Pauline Grabosch and Emma Hinze winning in a time of 32.163.

The hosts overhauled Australian pair Kaarle McCulloch and Stephanie Morton who had to settle for silver in a time of 32.384.

Bronze went to Chinese pair Feifei Chen and Tianshi Zhong in a time of 32.371 after they beat Russia.

The day's other final was the women's scratch race, contested over 40 laps,  which was won by Kirsten Wild of the Netherlands.

There was a photo finish for the other medals with silver going to Jennifer Valente of the United States and bronze to Maria Martins of Portugal.

Competition runs in Berlin through until Sunday with four finals on the programme for tomorrow - the men's and women's team pursuit, the men's scratch race and the men's keirin.