Action continued today at the All-African Badminton Championships in Port Harcourt ©BWF

Nigeria eased into the quarter-finals of the All-African Badminton Championships after beating Zimbabwe 5-0 in Port Harcourt today.

Fresh from their 5-0 win over South Africa in their Group D opener yesterday, Habeeb Temitope Bello and Amin Yop Christopher set the home nation on their way to another emphatic victory by defeating Michelle Gazah and Raeffic Alfonso 21-7, 21-7 in the mixed doubles at Alfred Diete Spiff Civic Centre.

Clement Krobakpor then doubled Nigeria’s advantage with a 21-10, 21-12 win over Thabani Mathe in the men’s singles before Sofiat Obashola made it 3-0 overall by overcoming Mudzamuri Tritama 21-1, 22-3 in the women’s singles.

With victory sealed, Nigeria completed the whitewash with wins for Krobakpor and Gideon Babalola in the men’s doubles, beating Dziva Ashely and Paul Kosolo 21-10, 21-10, and Christopher and Chinenye Ibere in the women’s doubles, defeating Zaza Michelle and Tritama.

"Although we have some strong teams in this competition, Nigeria is one of the biggest countries in badminton now," Krobakpor told This Day Live.

"For me, we are the best in this tournament because we had a better preparation than the last championships when we came second behind Algeria. 

"We have qualified for the quarter-finals and I expect us to go all the way."

Port Harcourt is playing host to the All-African Badminton Championships ©Getty Images
Port Harcourt is playing host to the All-African Badminton Championships ©Getty Images

Also advancing from Group D were South Africa thanks to their 4-0 win over Zimbabwe.

Uganda overcame the Democratic Republic of the Congo 5-0 to join Egypt in progressing from Group A, while Zambia beat Benin 5-0 to join Mauritius in earning a last-eight berth from Group B.

Ghana and Algeria advanced from Group C, having recorded 5-0 victories against Togo and Ivory Coast, respectively.

The team event is due to last until Thursday (April 25), when the finals will be held.

An individual competition will start on Friday (April 26).

The finals will be on Sunday (April 28).