Caleb Ewan will seek stage wins in front of a home crowd ©Getty Images

The Tour Down Under will launch the 2019 International Cycling Union (UCI) WorldTour season with the stage race set to begin tomorrow.

Riders will contest six stages at the Australian race, with action due to take place around Adelaide.

The race was preceded by the one-day People's Choice Classic yesterday, which was won by home favourite Caleb Ewan.

The Australian sprinter claimed victory for the third time in four years, as he edged 2018 winner Peter Sagan of Slovakia.

Both riders will expect to lock horns again over the six stages, with three flat routes offering opportunities for sprint finishes.

Ewan will be competing in his first WorldTour race for Lotto Soudal, following his move from Mitchelton Scott in the off-season.

He is one of several Australian riders expected to feature heavily in front of a home crowd.

Rohan Dennis and Richie Porte, the 2015 and 2017 champions respectively, are likely to be prominent in the peloton.

Rohan Dennis will be among the contenders to win the general classification ©Getty Images
Rohan Dennis will be among the contenders to win the general classification ©Getty Images

South Africa's Daryl Impey, the defending champion, will also take to the start line.

The race will begin with a 129 kilometre flat stage from North Adelaide to Port Adelaide.

Organisers opted to cut a finishing loop from the circuit due to concerns over high winds.

They have also reduced the second stage by nearly 30 kilometres over fears of potentially high temperatures.

Racing will take place until Sunday (January 20) when a climbing stage from McLaren Vale to Willunga Hill could prove decisive in deciding the winner.