Jarl Magnus Riiber, centre, won the first of two men's large hill competitions at the Nordic Combined World Cup in Lahti ©FIS

Jarl Magnus Riiber continued his fine run of form as he won the first of two men’s large hill competitions at the International Ski and Snowboard Federation (FIS) Nordic Combined World Cup in Lahti, Finland.

The Norwegian, who won all four available golds at the Nordic World Ski Championships in Planica, and won the last two World Cup events in Oslo, finished third in the ski jumping phase on the HS130 large hill, with a jump of 121 metres, earning 142.7 points.

Kristjan Ilves of Estonia, who finished second overall, topped the standings in the ski jumping round, with a jump of 129.5 metres, which earned him 148.2 points.

Second place in the ski jumping stage went to Japan’s Ryota Yamamoto, who jumped 129.5 metres, scoring 146 points.

In the cross-country phase, over 10 kilometres, Riiber took victory in a time of 23min 58sec, after outsprinting Ilves who took second in 23:59.7.

Norway’s Jens Luraas Oftebro completed the podium in 24:53, holding off Ilkka Herola of Finland, who finished 0.04 seconds behind.

Meanwhile, Johannes Lamparter of Austria sealed the overall World Cup title, after finishing today’s race in 11th place.

In yesterday’s men’s team sprint competition, Germany 1 duo Julian Schmid and Vinzenz Geiger claimed victory with 239.6 points in the ski jumping and a time of 29:44.3 in the cross-country.

Norway 1 pair Joergen Graabak and Riiber finished second, with 248.5 points and a time of 29:44.9.

The podium was completed by France 1 pairing Matteo Baud and Laurent Muhlethaler, with 236.3 points and a time of 29:49.8.

Austria 1’s pairing of Stefan Rettenegger and Lamparter had lead after the ski jumping phase with 257.7 points, but were only able to finish in fifth place overall, after finishing 28 seconds behind cross-country winners Germany 1.

Lamparter leads the overall World Cup standings with 1,349 points with one race remaining in the season in Lahti, the season finale, with Oftebro in second on 1,233 and Schmid third on 1,197.