Tokyo 2020 women's omnium champion Jennifer Valente of the United States won the elimination today ©Getty Images

Tokyo 2020 women's omnium champion Jennifer Valente of the United States won the elimination race on the opening day of the second of this season's three Track Nations Cup in Cairo.

Her nearest challengers were France's Victoire Berteau and Sophie Lewis from Britain, who took silver and bronze, respectively.

The concluding event of the night at the Cairo International Velodrome, the men’s elimination race, was decisively won by Britain’s William Tidball, who led the race out to defeat Yoeri Havik of The Netherlands, the current points race world champion, to the line.

The women’s team sprint went to China, who clocked 47.676 to defeat Germany, who finished in 47.912.

France took bronze in 47.999, beating Britain, who finished in 48.027.

In the men’s team sprint, it was the Netherlands who took the honours, clocking 42.641 to defeat France, who finished in 43.887.

Japan beat China to the bronze medal.

A dramatically fluctuating race finished with Denmark winning the men’s team pursuit from France in a time of 3:52.312.

The Danes led over the first 2,000 metres, but France were ahead with only 1,000m to go by just 0.024, but the lead switched again by the end, with France finishing on 3:53.229.

Germany claimed bronze, on 3:58.087, defeating early leaders New Zealand, who recorded 3:58.627.

France won the women’s team pursuit, clocking 4:13.820 to defeat New Zealand in the final after leading at 1,000, 2,000 and 3,000m.

The New Zealand team took silver in 4:15.000.

Bronze went to Germany, who dominated their match against Ireland in similar fashion, recording 4:18.324 to their opponents’ 4:23.238.

This International Cycling Union series, which opened in Jakarta last month, will count towards Paris 2024 rankings, and over 400 riders representing more than 50 countries are scheduled to take part in the four-day event in the Egyptian capital.

Riders can count their two best results in the 2023 and 2024 seasons towards the UCI Track Olympic Ranking 2022-2024 that will decide which 190 track cyclists earn spots at the next Olympic Games.