The Netherlands' Loes Adegeest made it back-to-back UCI Cycling Esports World Championships titles in Glasgow ©Zwift

The Netherlands' Loes Adegeest defended her International Cycling Union (UCI) Cycling Esports World Championships title in the women's race, while Denmark's Bjørn Andreasson stormed to victory in the men's event.

This year's World Championships was held in a virtual recreation of Glasgow, the British city set to host the inaugural combined UCI Cycling World Championships in 13 disciplines later this year, created by Zwift.

Adegeest placed sixth in the first stage of the competition - the 14.2 kilometres punch in which the top 30 riders advanced to the next phase.

The United States' Jacquie Godbe led the way with a 1.193 second gap to Sweden’s Mika Söderstrström and Britain’s Zoe Langham.

Adegeest prevailed in the 8.6km climb stage, from which the top 10 riders progressed to the final podium elimination race.

One of the favourites, Kristen Kulchinsky of the US, suffered a surprise early elimination to finish eighth, meaning Adegeest was left in a battle with Langham and Godbe in the final three on the final lap of the 12.3km race.

The defending champion crossed the finish line first, beating last year's bronze medallist Langham by 0.766 seconds and Godbe by 0.854.

In the men's competition, there was a surprise elimination in the punch, Belgium's Victor Campeanerts finishing 32nd to miss the cut.

Germany’s Marc Mäding won the stage by 0.062 seconds ahead of Norway’s Haavard Gjeldnes and 0.090 clear of Germany’s 2020 winner Jason Osborne, with Andreasson 0.226 off the pace in sixth.

Osborne was fastest in the climb, beating America's Zach Nehr by 0.247 seconds, while Andreasson was 0.807 to go through in ninth place.

Andreasson opted for an early attack in the podium, and none of his rivals were able to find a response.

He ultimately triumphed by 14.885 seconds in the final sprint, with German pair Osborne and Mäding taking silver and bronze in the battle for the top three.

Mäding finished 15.478 seconds behind the race winner.

Denmark's Bjørn Andreasson's early attack proved decisive to win the men's podium race ©Zwift
Denmark's Bjørn Andreasson's early attack proved decisive to win the men's podium race ©Zwift

Andreasson explained his tactics for the final sprint.

"The attack from the start is my signature move," he said.

"I can get a gap early, nobody really wants to follow in the start.

"I kept going as long as I could.

"After the last sprint, I could see the gap was big enough to hold it to the finish line."