Fem van Empel  starred for The Netherlands today ©Getty Images

Riders from The Netherlands started the 2023 International Cycling Union (UCI) Cyclo-cross World Championships in Hoogerheide strongly.

In the team relay, home favourites Tibor del Grosso, Guus van den Eijnden, Lauren Molengraaf, Leonie Bentveld, Fem van Empel and Ryan Kamp were too good for the rest of the bunch, clinching gold and leading the race from start to finish.

Britain and Belgium bagged silver and bronze respectively.

Del Grosso crossed the line in the first lap, clocking a time of 6min 30sec, giving them a six second advantage.

Van den Eijnden extended the lead by 15 seconds.

While the Dutch were put under pressure, Van Empel put the result beyond doubt by getting a 30sec lead, for teammate Kamp to seal the deal.

The British team that won silver featured Zoe Bäckstedt, Joseph Blackmore, Cat Ferguson, Alfie Amey, Anna Kay and Thomas Mein.

While Laurens Sweeck recorded the fastest lap of the day for Belgium with 6:26, Mein held him off to secure silver for Britain.

Belgians Antoine Jamin, Julie Brouwers, Joran Wyseure, Marion Norbert Riberolle and Xaydee Van Sinaey joined Sweeck for bronze.