Home favourite Mathieu Van der Poel will be eyeing the men's elite title in Hoogerheide ©Getty Images

The International Cycling Union (UCI) Cyclo-cross World Championships is set to begin tomorrow in Hoogerheide in The Netherlands.

Home favourite Mathieu Van der Poel and Belgian Wout van Aert have claimed every title since 2015 until 2021, when Tom Pidcock of Britain broke the dominance to take the men's elite title in Fayetteville last year.

However, this edition will see the Belgian trio of Laurens Sweeck, Michael Vanthourenhout and 202 bronze medallist Eli Iserbyt fight for the title after impressive form in the World Cup circuit.

Lars van der Haar of The Netherlands, the 2022 runner-up, will also hope to change the colour of his medal in front of the home crowd.

World Cup form of Fem van Empel and Puck Pieterse indicate that Dutch domination is expected in the women’s elite competition.

Pieterse who won the under-23 title last year will hope to replicate the form in the elite level, while compatriot Van Empel who won the under-23 title in 2021 will also look to step it up.

Unfortunately, defending champion Marianne Vos of The Netherlands will not be in action due to health issues.

Italian Silvia Persico, who won bronze last year, and Hungarian Kata Blanka Vas will be among the contenders looking to claim the rainbow jersey after Dutch riders won the last three editions.

Shirin van Anrooij is a firm favourite for the under-23 women’s title.

The Dutch rider has won three elite World Cup rounds this season with Britain’s Zoe Bäckstedt challenging her.

Meanwhile, in the men’s under-23 category, the Belgian trio of Jordan Wyseure, Emiel Verstrynge and Thibau Nys who finished on top of the podium will be hoping to repeat the feat.