Erich Schärer, considered Switzerland's most successful bobsledder, has been inducted into the Hall of Fame ©IBSF

The first names in the bobsleigh Hall of Fame have been formally inducted at a Ceremony in St Moritz.

The Hall of Fame has been created by the International Bobsleigh and Skeleton Federation (IBSF) in association with the Olympia Bob Run Historic group,

The home nation of Switzerland was well represented in the first list of inductees.

Jean Wicky, Hans Leutenegger, Werner Camichel and Edi Hubacher, members of the Olympic four-man gold medal-winning team at the 1972 Winter Olympics in Sapporo, were amongst those who were formally introduced in a list which spans over 100 years.

Their Swiss compatriot Erich Schärer, who won Olympic gold in the two-man bob at Lake Placid 1980 alongside the late Sepp Benz was also honoured.

Schärer’s World Championship record included seven titles and a medal of each colour at a World Championships held in St Moritz itself.

Germany’s Raimond Bethge was named for his accomplishments in coaching.

He trained the legendary Wolfgang Hoppe who won two Olympic gold medals for East Germany in 1984.

In a coaching career which spanned almost 31 years, Bethge helped win 91 medals in bobsleigh and a further 11 in skeleton.

He had been a successful competitor in his own right.

He competed in the 1976 Winter Olympcs and was a member of the four-man gold medal-winning East German team at the 1977 World Championships in St Moritz.

The British pair of Tony Nash and Robin Dixon, now Lord Glentoran, have also been recognised.

Tony Nash and Robin Dixon remain the only St Moritz Bobsleigh Club members to win Olympic gold ©Getty Images
Tony Nash and Robin Dixon remain the only St Moritz Bobsleigh Club members to win Olympic gold ©Getty Images

Nash and Dixon were members of the St Moritz Bob Club (SMBC) when they won Olympic gold at the 1964 Games in Innsbruck.

The pair also won World Championship gold at St Moritz in 1965 and have a corner on the course named in their honour.

Nash died last March aged 85 and was honoured posthumously by the Hall of Fame.

The earliest champion to be recognised is Italy’s double Olympic silver medallist Reto Capadrutt, who won two-man gold at Innsbruck in 1935 and bronze at St Moritz the same year.

Capadrutt was tragically killed in a bobsleigh crash in 1939.

Hubert de Martineau who was SMBC President from 1922 to 1969 and his successor Gunther Sachs, President until 2011, were also honoured.

At the awards Ceremony, IBSF President Ivo Ferriani presented the diploma to Sachs' son Rolf at the Dracula Club, a nightspot founded by Sachs senior.

Rolf Sachs has been SMBC President since 2012.