Charlotte Caslick, left, is one of three Australians nominated for the World Rugby women's sevens player of the year award ©Getty Images

Australia has five representatives out of a possible eight nominations for the World Rugby men's and women's sevens player of the year awards.

Australia co-captain Charlotte Caslick is one of three players nominated for the women's award from the reigning 2022 Series, Commonwealth Games, and Rugby World Cup Sevens-winning side.

She finished the 2022 Series top of the impact player table and played every match at Birmingham 2022 in England and the World Cup in South Africa.

Her compatriots Maddison Levi, who scored a hat-trick in the World Cup final, and Faith Nathan, who became the first player to score five tries in a single match at the tournament, are also nominated.

Irish winger Amee Leigh Murphy Crowe is also in contention having topped the Series try-scoring charts with 36.

For the men's title, two members of the Series-winning Australian squad have been nominated.

Nick Malouf captained the side throughout their campaign while Corey Toole scored 43 tries as the country won the gold medal for the first time.

Irish nominee Terry Kennedy was the only player to score more tries than Toole as he crossed the whitewash 50 times and helped his side to bronze.

Kaminieli Rasaku built on an impressive debut year by scoring four tries in Fiji's World Cup-winning campaign.

Several other accolades are set to be won at the World Rugby Awards, including the men's and women's 15s player of the year prizes.

New Zealand's World Cup winners Portia Woodman and Ruahei Demant are joined by Canadian Sophie de Goede, England's Alex Matthews and Frenchwoman Laure Sansus in the women's category.

Meanwhile Irish pair Johnny Sexton and Josh van der Flier are looking to dethrone fellow nominee and 2021 men's player of the year Antoine Dupont of France while South Africa's Lukhanyo Am is also in the running.

The winners are due to be announced on Sunday (November 20) at the Salle des Étoiles in Monaco.

Awards are also set to be handed out for men's and women's 15s breakthrough players of the year, coach of the year, international men's and women's tries of the year, referee of the year, the international rugby players special merit award, and the Vernon Pugh award for distinguished service.