Kaleo Kanahele Maclay has been named as part of the United States' 12-player women's sitting volleyball squad for Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images

Nine players from the women’s sitting volleyball team that secured the Paralympic gold medal for the United States at Rio 2016 have been selected in the 12-strong squad for next month’s Games here.

USA Volleyball has announced that Tia Edwards, Heather Erickson, Katie Holloway, Kaleo Kanahele Maclay, Monique Matthews, Nicky Nieves, Lexi Shifflett, Lora Webster and Bethany Zummo will return to the Paralympic team after their achievements five years ago.

Webster will be playing at her fifth Paralympics, while Holloway and Erickson will be making their fourth appearance and Maclay will be participating at her third Games.

Whitney Dosty, Emma Schieck and Jillian Williams will make their Paralympic debuts in Tokyo, where the Games are due to open on August 24, as the US aim to repeat their Rio 2016 success.

Head coach Bill Hamiter, who has led the team since Beijing 2008, will again be in charge of the team which also features Michelle Goodall and Jon Aharoni as his two assistant coaches.

The country’s women’s sitting volleyball team have medalled at ever Paralympics since 2004, winning bronze at Athens 2004, silver at both Beijing 2008 and London 2012 and gold at Rio 2016.

The team are expected to train and acclimate in the Japanese city of Ichinomiya from August 15 to 20 before heading to the Japanese capital with the sitting volleyball competition scheduled to run from August 27 to September 5, the closing day of the Games.