Jiří Kejval has been re-elected Czech Olympic Committee President ©Czech Olympic Committee

Jiří Kejval has been re-elected Czech Olympic Committee President for a third term at the organisation’s General Assembly, after a delayed election process.

The election was initially due to take place last year, but was delayed twice due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Two further postponements were forced by three officials in court, after they claimed to have been unfairly removed from the list of candidates for the COC elections.

The three officials were Jan Štovíček, President of the Autoklub of the Czech Republic (ACCR), Zdenek Ertl, chairman of Association of Sporting Federations, and Miroslav Jansta, chairman of Czech Union of Sport.

The date of the election was confirmed last month, with the COC saying two submissions to block the elections were rejected by the Municipal Court in Prague.

Kejval, an International Olympic Committee (IOC) member, was initially due to face challenger Filip Neusser in the Presidential election.

The COC has said Kejval has been elected unopposed, after Neusser became the head of the National Sports Agency and did not run.

"I am pleased with the great support," said Kejval.

"It turned out that the problem is not in the leadership and management, but is purely legislative.

"It is certainly not the end of the problem, but we want to continue to act and solve all problems effectively in the future. 

"It will be a lot of work, but we are ready for it. 

"Now the priority is the Olympics, we are now straining all our forces."

Kejval has been in charge of the COC since 2012.

He became an IOC member in 2018, a year later than planned, after allegations of financial impropriety which were eventually dismissed.

The former international rower is the current chair of the IOC Marketing Commission and of IOC Television and Marketing Services.

Jiří Kejval is set to serve a four-year term until 2025 ©Czech Olympic Committee
Jiří Kejval is set to serve a four-year term until 2025 ©Czech Olympic Committee

International Ski Federation vice-president Roman Kumpošt was re-elected to the same post at the COC.

The COC said finance will be overseen by vice-president Libor Varhaník, the President of Czech Athletics and a European Athletics vice-president.

Coaching, Olympism and education will be overseen by Zdeněk Haník, with International Floorball Federation vice-president Filip Šuman in charge of non-Olympic sports.

The two officials are COC vice-presidents, along with Olympic ice hockey gold medallist and three-time world champion Milan Hnilička.

Hnilička until recently led the National Sports Agency.

Hnilička overcame Štovíček in the election.

Štovíček said he welcomed that the General Assembly was held in-person and viewed the court proceedings as having been important in ensuring a democratic process.

"I am glad the election finally happened the way we wished and I asked for – in person and not by distant vote," Štovíček said in a statement to insidethegames.

"The delegates of General Assembly by large majority approved my inclusion among the candidates, which confirmed that I was correct when asking to be on the candidates‘ list also through Court Injunctions.

"In the vote itself I lost against ex-chairman of the National Sporting Agency and successful ice hockey player Milan Hnilicka, so under these condition I consider getting a fifth of votes as a solid result for a candidate from non-Olympic sport.

"I believe that my Court actions and my candidacy started a process of democratisation in the COC, which showed to be necessary due to criticism of the COC management by several members, including Czech Union of Sport, the largest national sporting organization.

"And I believe this process will continue."

The Executive Committee will include Petr Fousek from football, basketball’s Michal Ježdík, volleyball’s Marek Pakosta, Olga Plachá from equestrian and Jaroslav Pollert from canoeing.

Swimming’s Petr Ryška, softball’s Gabriel Waage, sport climbing’s Jan Bloudek, taekwondo’s Petr Hulinský and Martin Bohman from bobsleigh and skeleton were also elected.

Alexander Kliment will serve as a representative of the Czech Olympic Academy, with Alpine skier Šárka Strachová the Czech Fair Play Club official.

Rower Oldřich Svojanovský and Alena Erlebachová will represent the Czech Olympian and Paralympics Clubs respectively, with London 2012 Olympic modern pentathlon gold medallist David Svoboda the Athletes' Commission member.

Olympic gold medallist and world champion in cross-country skiing Kateřina Neumannová and Hana Moučková will represent the Czech Club of Sports Associations, Organisations and Institutions.