Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen of Norway has been appointed to the IOC Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images

Olympic cross-country skiing gold medallist Astrid Uhrenholdt Jacobsen of Norway is set to become a member of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) after being appointed to replace American Kikkan Randall on the Athletes' Commission.

Jacobsen, who won gold as part of the Norwegian 4x5 kilometres relay squad at the 2018 Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang, is likely to be sworn in as a full member of the IOC at the Session in Tokyo next month.

The Norwegian takes the place on the Athletes' Commission - and the IOC membership that comes with it - vacated by Randall, who resigned this week for personal reasons.

Jacobsen will complete her fellow cross-country Olympic gold medallist's term on the Athletes' Commission, due to end after the conclusion of the 2026 Winter Games in Milan and Cortina d'Ampezzo.

"I am both honoured and humbled," the 34-year-old, who retired from skiing in April last year, said.

"My main motivation for accepting this position is to work to ensure that the voice of practitioners is heard in all important matters. 

"Athletes have become an increasingly important group in international sports, and that our views have been desired in the important sports policy debates. 

"I am really looking forward to taking on this position."

The IOC also confirmed outgoing Athletes' Commission chair Kirsty Coventry had been proposed for individual membership, set to be rubber-stamped at the Session.

Outgoing IOC Athletes' Commission chair, Kirsty Coventry, right, is set to become a full member of the IOC next month ©Getty Images
Outgoing IOC Athletes' Commission chair, Kirsty Coventry, right, is set to become a full member of the IOC next month ©Getty Images

Coventry becoming a full member had been widely expected after she was chosen to lead the Coordination Commission for the Youth Olympics in Dakar, postponed from 2022 to 2026.

The Zimbabwe Sports Minister has been part of the Executive Board since her election as Athletes' Commission chair in 2018.

Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark, who also resigned from the IOC for personal reasons this week, has been put forward for honorary IOC membership alongside Britain's Sir Craig Reedie.

Sir Craig's term on the IOC, which included a period where he was frequently attacked by his colleagues in his time as World Anti-Doping Agency President, is due to conclude at the end of this year as he has reached the age limit of 80.

The former IOC vice-president, who served on the Executive Board from 2009 to 2016, first became an IOC member in 1994 and has been part of several key Commissions.

Octavian Morariu of Romania, Brazil's Bernard Rajzman, Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski of the Philippines, Kenya's Paul Tergat and Ethiopia's Dagmawit Girmay Berhane have been proposed for re-election as members.

Former United Nations secretary general Ban Ki-moon has been proposed for re-election as chairman of the IOC Ethics Commission by the Executive Board.

The South Korean official has led the Commission since 2017 and is set to secure another term at the IOC Session in the Japanese capital on July 21.

Former Costa Rican President Laura Chinchilla has been put forward to replace the outgoing Angela Ruggiero of the United States, a former Executive Board member, on the Ethics Commission.

Hanqin Xue of China has also been proposed for re-election to the Commission.