Emily Tapp earned a place on Australia's Gold Coast 2018 team by winning the women's handcycling event ©Triathlon Australia

Emily Tapp secured automatic qualification for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games after winning the women's hand cycling event at the International Triathlon Union (ITU) World Paratriathlon Series here today.

With the first Australian over the line receiving a place at next year's Games, it was a direct contest between Tapp and Sarah Tait to earn the first place on the team.

Tapp would pull clear during the 750 metres swim section of the race, before extending her advantage in the 20 kilometres bike and 5km wheelchair run.

She finished in a winning time of 1 hour, 16min and 32sec, with her nearest challenger Mary Kate Callahan of New Zealand, ending 10 minutes adrift in second.

Tait rounded off the podium, ending in a time of 1:37:21.

Five-time world champion Bill Chaffey secured the men's spot for the Commonwealth Games by finishing second in the hand cycling event, with the discipline chosen for when paratriathlon makes its Games debut next year.

Chaffey was forced to settle for second place today by clocking 1:03:47, as Rio 2016 Paralympic champion Jetze Plat of The Netherlands marked his first appearance since last year's Games by winning in 58:22.

The podium was completed by France's Ahmed Andaloussi, who finished in 1:05:52.

There would be French gold in the men's S2 and S4 classes, with Stephane Bahier and Alexis Hanquinquant triumphing in the respective events.

A second place finish in the men's hand-cycling race was enough for Bill Chaffey to qualify for Gold Coast 2018 ©Triathlon Australia
A second place finish in the men's hand-cycling race was enough for Bill Chaffey to qualify for Gold Coast 2018 ©Triathlon Australia

A strong performance from Bahier saw him finish one minute clear of the United States' Mark Barr in the S2 class, with the Frenchman winning in 1:08:30.

Australia's Brant Garvey clocked 1:13:14 to end in third place.

Hanquinquant finished the S4 competition in a winning time of 1:02:24, with Spain's Alejandro Sánchez Palomero and Brazil's Marcelo Collet following him across the line in 1:05:42 and 1:06:04.

In the men's S3 event, Australia's Justin Godfrey claimed the victory in a time of 1:10:36, with Brazil's Tiago Matthes ending 13 minutes further back.

The United States' Chris Hammer held off the challenge of Carlos Rafael Viana to win the S5 class in a time of 1:01:13, with his Brazilian rival ending as the runner-up in 1:02:45.

France's Yan Guanter was a further 1:14 back in third.

Australian success came in the men's visually impaired classification as Jonathan Goerlach crossed the line in 1:05:12.

The Netherlands' Daniel Knegt and Australia's Gerard Gosens rounded off the podium in times of 1:06:32 and 1:07:15 respectively.

Victory in the women's visually impaired event was earned by Elizabeth Baker in 1:06:50, with the American ending 34 seconds in front of Spain's Susana Rodriguez.

The Netherlands' Odette Deudekom was third in 1:10:20.

Rio 2016 gold medallist Allysa Seely won the S2 class in a time of 1:26:35, with the American followed across the line by Japan's Yukako Hato and Spain's Rakel Mateo Uriarte, who ended in 1:34:01 and 1:40:26 respectively.

Australia's Sally Pilbeam secured victory in the S4 event by finishing in 1:18:58, with her team-mate Kerryn Harvey clocking 1:21:56.

Their compatriot Kate Doughty finished the S5 race in 1:10:01.