Luiza Zlotkowska has been elected to the ISU Athletes' Commission ©Getty Images

Two-time Olympic medallist Luiza Zlotkowska has been elected to the International Skating Union (ISU) Athletes’ Commission as the speed skating representative.

The election took place here at the International Skating Union (ISU) World Single Distances Championships, with the competition doubling as a test event for the Pyeongchang 2018 Winter Olympics.

Zlotkowska faced the challenge of China’s Vancouver 2010 women’s 500 metres bronze medallist Beixing Wang and The Netherlands’ Margot Boer, a double bronze medal winner at Sochi 2014.

The Polish skater received a total of 33 of the 73 votes cast, which was enough for the team pursuit silver medallist at Sochi and bronze medal winner at Vancouver 2010 to win the election.

Wang would end as the runner-up with a tally of 21 votes, while Boer received 19.

There were no blank votes recorded in the election.

It was decided during the organisation’s 56th Ordinary Congress, held in Dubrovnik, Croatia, in June, to set up the Commission so skaters can have their views represented within the governing body.

The Commission will be made up of five athletes from each of the skating disciplines - single and pair skating, ice dance, synchronised skating, speed skating and short track speed skating.

"With the introduction of the ISU Athletes' Commission, the ISU looks forward to working more closely with the athletes," a statement said.

"We believe this is a great opportunity for athletes to have their say on matters involving them and they will help build a strong and successful future for the ISU and its members."

Beixing Wang missed out on a spot on the Athletes' Commission after coming second in the secret ballot ©Getty Images
Beixing Wang missed out on a spot on the Athletes' Commission after coming second in the secret ballot ©Getty Images

Zlotkowska joins Sweden’s Nathalie Lindqvist on the Commission, after she was the sole synchronised skating candidate standing.

It followed Daria Rakhvalskaia being forced to withdraw due to Russia already having a candidate standing for a figure skating position.

Her compatriot Fedor Klimov is bidding for the single and pairs role, along with American John Coughlin, Misha Ge of Uzbekistan, Kiira Korpi of Finland and Valentina Marchei of Italy.

They are joined in the running by Olympic singles bronze medallist Denis Ten of Kazakhstan, Jian Tong of China and the Czech Republic’s Tomas Verner.

France’s Nathalie Pechalat, Canadian Paul Poirier and Turkish skater Alper Uçar are the nominees in the ice dance category.

Hungary’s Viktor Knoch, a multiple European Championships medallist who won relay silver at the 2015 World Championships in Moscow, will battle it out with Canada’s Caroline Truchon to become the short track speed skating representative on the Commission.

The short track competitor is set to be elected at the ISU World Short Track Speed Skating Championships in Rotterdam from March 10 to 12.

The single and pair and dancing representatives are due to be decided at the ISU World Figure Skating Championships in Helsinki in Finland from March 29 to April 2.

Each registered athlete at the Championships is granted a vote for the secret ballot.