Millie Knight is one of five nominees for the Evie Pinching Award ©Getty Images

Five candidates have been shortlisted for this year’s Evie Pinching Award following nominations, the Ski Club of Great Britain have announced.

Aimed at celebrating the next generation of up-and-coming snow sport athletes, the winner of the award will be given a one-off bursary of £1,000 ($1,450/€1,270) for the year to help with training and competing.

Alpine skier Yasmin Cooper, who finished 19th in the women’s super-G at the Lillehammer 2016 Winter Youth Olympic Games, has been selected as one of the five candidates.

She is joined by visually impaired skiers Menna Fitzpatrick and Millie Knight, who produced strong performances throughout the duration of the International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Alpine Skiing World Cup season.

Fitzpatrick eventually finished top of the overall standings for the giant slalom, while Knight proved to be the most dominant athlete in super-G competition during the season.

The list of nominees is complete by snowboarder Matt McCormick and aerials freestyle skier Lloyd Wallace.

The award is named after British Alpine skier Evelyn Pinching, who competed in the Garmisch-Partenkirchen 1936 Olympics and won the women's downhill and combined events in the World Championships in Innsbruck the same year.

Lloyd Wallace is in contention for the £1,000 bursary
Lloyd Wallace is in contention for the £1,000 bursary ©Getty Images

"Congratulations to all the shortlisted athletes for this year’s Evie Pinching award,” said Frank McCusker, chief executive of the Ski Club of Great Britain.

“They’ve bright futures ahead.

“We are really proud to be able to continue the legacy that Evelyn Pinching created and recognise and reward up-and-coming talent - and would encourage everyone to show their support and vote.”

The shortlist was chosen by the Ski Club after nominations had been put forward by National Governing Bodies, Snowsport England, Snowsport Scotland, SnowSport Wales, Disability Snowsport UK and British Ski and Snowboard.

An online public vote has now opened and will draw to a close at the end of May 26, with the athlete with the most votes earning the prize.

Each of the athletes had to be below the age of 24 to be nominated and considered “one to watch”.

The award forms part of the Ski Club’s INSPIRE programme which recognises and rewards the talented men and women who are making a positive contribution to snow sports, as well as offering funding and awards.

Rising snowboard star Katie Ormerod was the recipient of the award last season.

Votes can be cast here.