The IFAF have named Britain and Italy as hosts of the qualifying tournaments ©IFAF Europe

Britain and Italy have been awarded hosting rights for American Football European Championship 2016 qualifying tournaments with eight teams due to be in action.

The International Federation of American Football (IFAF) Europe Competition Committee declared Italy as the hosts of the first qualifying event, which is due to be held from September 2 to 4.

Israel, Serbia and Switzerland are due to join the host nation in Lignano Sabbiadoro, with teams set to play a semi-final and a placement match.

Meanwhile, Britain are due to welcome the Czech Republic, Russia and The Netherlands from September 16 to 18 for the second competition, which will be held in the 10,000 seater Allianz Park Stadium in London.

“We would like to thank both the Italian American Football Federation and the British American Football Association, not only for their willingness to be the hosts of such important football events, but also for their effort to find the good stadiums and cities which suit all the participating nations,” said Goran Nisavic, IFAF Europe chairman.

“We will work together with both national associations in order to make these memorable tournaments not only for participating teams, but also for the large number of fans that will be present.

“I would like to invite all the fans across Europe to book these two weekends in their calendars and to come to Lignano and London to support the teams, the hosts, and American Football in Europe.”

The Allianz Park Stadium will host the second qualifying tournament in Britain
The Allianz Park Stadium will host the second qualifying tournament in Britain ©Getty Images

The winners of each tournament will advance to the European Championship 2017 qualifying round, where they will meet Sweden and Denmark.

Those teams will then vie for the final two places in the European Championship 2018 final tournament, which is scheduled to be held in Germany.

The Germans will aim to secure their third straight title but will face competition from Austria, France and Finland, who secured top four places in the 2014 edition of the tournament.

As well as claiming the European crown, the winners will also qualify for the World Championship in 2019.