USA's three-time Olympic champion Carmelo Anthony.

The basketball groups for Paris 2024 have been announced, with gold medal favourites the United States paired with reigning world runners-up Serbia in a draw held in Switzerland, where France will meet world champions Germany.

The groups for the forthcoming Olympic Games were announced and the United States, the favourites and have always celebrated on the podium singing the national anthem with the gold medal around their necks since they started playing with NBA professionals (Barcelona 92) (with the one exception of Athens 2004, when Argentina took the title).

The ceremony was presided over by FIBA President Sheikh Saud Ali Al Thani and FIBA Secretary General Andreas Zagklis. They were joined by representatives of the participating national federations.

The announcements were made by basketball legends, Australia's Penny Taylor and America's Carmelo Anthony, and could be viewed on FIBA's official YouTube channel.

On the men's side, Serbia, a country with a rich FIBA basketball heritage, will be part of the USA group. They will be joined by South Sudan and the winner of the Puerto Rico Pre-Olympic Tournament (Puerto Rico, Italy, Bahrain, Lithuania, Mexico and Côte d'Ivoire).

Team USA will be led by LeBron James (the NBA's all-time leading scorer), Stephen Curry, Joel Embiid and Kevin Durant. Australia's Group A opponents include Canada, who finished third at the last World Cup, and the winners of the pre-Olympic tournaments in Greece and Spain, the 2019 world champions who would be in a tough Group A if they manage to qualify.

The other group pits reigning world champions Germany against hosts France. Japan will also be joined by the winner of the Latvia Pre-Olympic Tournament, where Brazil are among the favourites. The men's pre-Olympic tournaments take place from 2-7 July, less than a month before the French event.

In women's basketball, Spain and Puerto Rico have been placed in the same group as China (current world runners-up) and Serbia. The United States and the French hosts have separated by being placed in two different groups.

Both the men's and women's Olympic tournaments will feature twelve teams, divided into three groups of four, which will then meet in play-offs for medals. The top two teams from each group and the two best third-placed teams will progress to the quarter-finals.



Group A:



-Winner of the Qualification Tournement in Spain (Spain, Angola, Lebanon, Bahamas, Finland and Poland).

-Winner of the Qualification Tournement in Greece (Greece, Slovenia, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Croatia and New Zealand).

Group B:




-Winner of the Qualification Tournement in Latvia (Latvia, Georgia, Philippines, Brazil, Montenegro and Cameroon).

Group C:

-United States


-South Sudan

-Winner of the Qualification Tournement in Puerto Rico (Puerto Rico, Italy, Bahrain, Lithuania, Mexico and Ivory Coast).


Group A:




-Puerto Rico.

Group B:





Group C:

-United States.