Matej Mohorič, centre, won the overall title at Tour de Pologne ©Tour de Pologne

One second separated Matej Mohorič and João Almeida as the former edged to victory in the Tour de Pologne.

Slovenian Mohorič, riding for Bahrain Victorious, said he would donate the prize money to victims of the flash floods in his country.

Torrential rains have killed at least three people with the Koroska region in the Central European nation among the hardest hit places.

The country's Prime Minister Robert Golob has described the situation as "catastrophic", with rescue operations underway.

Mohorič clinched the overall classification at the International Cycling Union (UCI) World Tour event with a total time of 26hours 17.48min.

"I feel proud because we fought all the way to the finish today and now we’re going to celebrate," Mohorič said after the win.

"It was hard to concentrate on the race today because of what happened last night in Slovenia with the floods and people losing their lives, their homes and their belongings. My heart is with them.

"As soon as I get back I’ll try to help them financially with the prize money from this race. Sometimes we need to  put sport into perspective.

"On a sporting level I am really happy and proud of this success. It was a great team effort and one of the best team performances."

Behind Portuguese Almeida who rides for UAE Team Emirates was Polish Michał Kwiatkowski of Ineos Grenadiers, who was 17sec behind the leader.

Tim Merlier of Belgium helped Soudal-QuickStep claim the final stage in a bunch sprint, clocking 3:28.44.

Winning the second hilly stage from Leszno to Karpacz proved to be a crucial result for Mohorič in taking the general classification title.

The 28-year-old and Almeida were tied after the time trial on Thursday (August 3) before the Slovenian gained slender advantage on Friday.

Meanwhile, Merlier finished with two stage victories to his name having won the first flat stage in Poznań.

For the hosts, Rafał Majka managed to win the third hilly stage from Wałbrzych to Duszniki-Zdrój.

Dutch riders Olav Kooij and Marijn van den Berg were the winners on stage four and stage five, respectively.

Italian Mattia Cattaneo triumphed in the individual time trial on day six.