Stuart Robinson is one of seven Paralympic champions in Britain's team for the Wheelchair Rugby European Championship in Cardiff ©Getty Images

Seven members of Britain's Paralympic gold medal-winning team have been named among the 11 to represent the country at their home Wheelchair Rugby European Championship in Cardiff.

Jonathan Coggan is the most experienced member of the squad and is set for his 10th appearance at a European Championships.

Fellow Paralympic champions Stuart Robinson, Aaron Phipps, Jamie Stead, Gavin Walker, Nick Cummins and Jack Smith also feature in the squad.

David Ross is set for a European Championship debut, while Coral Batey is due to return after a break from international competition, having last represented Britain at the Rio 2016 Paralympics.

Kieran Flynn and Daniel Kellett complete the squad.

Paul Shaw is once again set to serve as head coach, and believes the team selected is a strong one.

Britain won wheelchair rugby Paralympic gold for the first time at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images
Britain won wheelchair rugby Paralympic gold for the first time at Tokyo 2020 ©Getty Images

"First of all, I'd like to thank every athlete for their dedication over the last few months and the work they have all put in to be in a position to be selected," Shaw said.

"It was a very tough decision for us to pick the final team for this Championship.

"Now we’ve completed selection, I'm very excited what this team can achieve.

"We know that the competition will be tough but are confident we will be competitive and challenge for the top positions, and ultimately gain an automatic place in Paris next year [at the Paralympics]."

The Principality Stadium in the Welsh capital is due to host the European Championship from May 3 to 7.

Britain have been drawn in Pool B alongside Denmark, Switzerland and Israel, with defending champions France in Pool A with Germany, The Netherlands and Czech Republic.

France have automatically qualified for the wheelchair rugby tournament at Paris 2024, meaning that the top two-ranked nations other than them will secure places at the Paralympics, with the next two best teams invited to a qualification tournament.